01 logo

Why I Think Apple is Overrated

A Wasted Company Who Prey on the Weak

By Evan FilleyPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Listen, I understand there will be many fans out there who will disagree with my opinion of Apple and their products, but let me just say that yes, I have in fact used many products from Apple, including their computers, laptops, iPods, and of course, an iPhone 4s, which happened to be my first foray into smartphones. When I first got it, I was blown away, and found myself being my eight year old inner child again, this was Christmas for me, I had never held or even owned a phone like this before. All my phones had been the ugly grey brick flip phones from Tracfone. But this was when I decided to upgrade, all thanks to my Mrs, who was with Verizon at the time.

However, as time when on, the novelty of the phone wore off, and I found myself being more enraged with the phone than enthralled. When I would try to download games, I would get constant errors, and that's if I found one I liked, come to find out Apple had some really harsh rules about what apps they would allow on their store. I applaud the indie developer, and I download any game I find interesting, just to support them. It seems that Apple only cares about being in full control of their platform, unlike Samsung and Android, which is far more user friendly and supports the local developers who work hard and put a lot of time and often money into these products just to make a living and to get noticed by the consumer. Hell, how do you think 'Angry Birds' made such an impact? Because some people thought how fun would it be to launch wingless birds at wingless pigs and break buildings. They didn't have to submit to Apple for approval, they just went off and did it, and Rovio is now a multi-billion dollar company, go figure.

As time went on, I switched over to Android, more than anything I just liked how many different options you had for phones, how much you could do with operating system, it felt more like Android was for the consumer, and didn't try to alienate the user, much like how I felt when using an Apple product. When I use an iPhone now, I have no idea why I have so much trouble navigating the different screens, and I'm sure this is just me, but when I use an Android phone, oh gosh, its such a breeze. I've never had an issue using my Samsung phone, and the selection of games and apps are vast, giving plenty of options for the user.

Look, my biggest complaints about Apple are their prices. Recently, the iPhone 10, which flopped really hard by the way, cost over 1000$ and all the options it had were found in other phones that had these two years ago. You know why they charged that much? They could. And they did. You are buying into a brand name. Samsung at least has phones under 50$, they may not be the best, but if a person can't afford a 1000$ iPhone, they shouldn't feel like they can't have what they want, like when people go to the Apple stores, they all feel like they are judging you, and quite honestly, I felt that way too. Really, it boils down to Android having far more choices and is great for first time users of smartphones. I will admit, most of this article has been focusing on the phones, but that's where most of my experience comes from, I have used their computers, but it wasn't in-depth, so I would rather not give an opinion on something that I haven't used a lot of, so I do apologize if this article is very much one minded, I was just trying to voice my opinion on the matter.

There is one thing I really wanted to say, and this is the reason I wanted to write this. A day or so ago Apple went on record that they admitted they were purposely slowing down older iPhones just so the owner would have to go out and buy a new one. I mean, are you kidding me? They said this, they opening admitted to this, but they still have fans, they still have billions in revenue each year, so it just goes to show that even if you admit to a serious wrong, it doesn't seem to affect the overall end result, as they will still be a company, collecting mad amounts of cash from sorry morons who don't understand that a phone that costs 1000$ isn't a good investment. I hope you all enjoy that, because I will be sitting back, laughing as you all stand in line for the iPhone 11, which I'm sure, will fix all the mistakes for the past five years that Apple has done. Fingers crossed.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Evan Filley

Movies are my passion, but really I just enjoy entertaining people. I hope to work in film one day, but for now, short stories will do fine.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.