01 logo

What TikTok’s Superior Algorithm Can Teach Us About Life

(And why the Establishment is desperate to get rid of it)

By Eve BerkovichPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
3
What TikTok’s Superior Algorithm Can Teach Us About Life
Photo by visuals on Unsplash

Alright y’all… hear me out.

If you haven’t yet been lured to download and adopt TikTok as a lifestyle, you may be wondering what all the buzz about TikTok getting banned is about.

You can find over 69 million different interpretations of the situation online.

Here’s the most genius one of all: mine

You’re welcome in advance for my enlightening take on all of this. I have a bachelor’s degree in sociology, and I’m not afraid to use it!

Let’s start with the basics.

TikTok’s algorithm is spookily specific.

The structure of the For You page means you’re getting a steady stream of content relevant to what you’ve indicated that you prefer via watching, liking, and following users.

If you’re like me, the TikToks that come up on your For You page can be weirdly specific. Here’s what I’ve learned from my experience on the app:

1. a LOT of people are going through the exact same struggles I am facing

2. like, the exact same situations.

3. like, literally the same story I’ve been telling

4. like, eerily specific.

5. and the cherry on top is the 420 comments that state “same” or “I claim this ❤”

What the System doesn’t want us to know: We have a lot more in common than we think.

What does it mean that I’ve watched steady streams of TikToks from countless different content creators giving me inspiration to overcome extremely specific issues in my life?

It means we all have a lot more in common than we think.

Personally, I don’t know why I used to be so convinced that the struggles I was going through were extremely unique. No one could possibly understand what I was going through!

In fact, I used to be insulted by the idea that people who struggled with my same issues were able to figure it all out. Well, I haven’t figured it out yet, so that means my situation is way worse!

TikTok has reaffirmed my knowledge of the truth: we all have more in common than we think.

Let’s be real.

You grew up watching the same TV shows, reading the same books, and learning the same knowledge in school as most people in your general age group.

Not only that, but you consumed the same internet content that tens of thousands of millions of other people have consumed. Even the nichiest niches of the internet host large, robust online communities.

I feel very much like this image when I talk about this,

The Simpsons: "Old Man Yells At Cloud" newspaper clipping from episode

but I’ll say it anyway: nothing is going to be the same as ever before now that we’ve got the Internet.

TikTok is one example of many online platforms that demonstrate the value of connecting people with similar interests.

The machine-learning based algorithms of apps like TikTok literally reflect the laws of our universe. Like attracts like; Google something about depression, and you’ll get ads for antidepressants.

…Message your friends about your latest boy drama, and get ten thousand TikToks on your For You page about how the exact type of boy that’s giving you trouble “ain’t shit.”

It’s Over for the Establishment

We proles can now communicate with more efficiency and reach than ever before.

You have absolutely no reason to believe that no one thinks like you do. I spent a lot of my life afraid to speak my mind too “publicly.” Now, I understand that there are countless people who are interested in what I have to say, even if they’re distributed all over the world.

We all have a platform now.

We all have platforms through which we can share our value with the people all over the world who can benefit from it. It’s not the 18th century when your only prospects for love and community were those within reach by horse-back.

You can easily seize the means of production, especially if your value comes in the form of ideas.

The entire world is now your oyster. Father Marx would be THRILLED.

You gotta give it to the technology bros in this respect: making connections between people whose values align with each other’s is pretty damn valuable.

It’s time to organize. I say, stop fearing the algorithms and start using them to your advantage. Let them connect you to what is meant for you. Let them connect you to people who share your vision.

I might be completely wrong about all of this, and I don’t really care either way. Sometimes you gotta learn from the lizard people on top: especially nowadays, there’s no such thing as bad publicity.

Final Food for Thought

Here are some questions for pondering. I’m still pondering these, and I’d love to hear your ponderings if you’ve got ’em.

1. What is the cost/benefit analysis of making use of social media algorithms?

2. How valuable is “online privacy” if it comes at the expense of valuable connections with those who share your values & experiences?

3. Given that your “online privacy” is likely already non-existent,

4. And that your data is probably already being used for immense profit without your permission nor full understanding,

5. Is it more wise to embrace the advantages of online algorithms that reflect the universal law of attraction?

6. Am I dumb? If you think I am, I hope you’ve had a good laugh. Y’know, I’m just trying to start some drama ;)

Don’t come for me, ugly government people! ;)

social media
3

About the Creator

Eve Berkovich

Broadcasting my genius

Instagram: @eve.berk

Join my delicious email list to transform your mindset: awakenyourgenius.substack.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.