01 logo

What I’ve Learned Working for Verblio

Writing for Verblio

By Angela W.Published 11 months ago 4 min read
Like
What I’ve Learned Working for Verblio
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

I started Verblio on October 2nd, 2019. Since then, I have made over $13,000. That’s not a lot considering the time span, but it’s also a side hustle for me and I took a lot of time off to do other things. I have written over 500 articles. All things considered, that’s not bad for the small time investment.

Here is my own personal experience so far working at Verblio.

What is Verblio?

Verblio used to be known as BlogMutt when it first started. It was rebranded as Verblio in 2018. Verblio currently has more than 3,000 writers on the platform, which is a tell-tale sign that they are doing something right over there. It is a fairly flexible writing gig in comparison to some others. However, if you are blessed with assignments, you will have only a certain amount of days to get it done. It is only available for workers in the US, and you have to complete an W-9 with a valid social security number.

Here is the long and short of how the system works. When you first get started, it’s tough, to say the least. You can only grab jobs that are 300 to 550 words, and you are competing with other writers. What this means is that one job may have more than one submission, and you may or may not get paid for your efforts.

However, once you “level up”, you will gain access to higher word counts, and thus, higher paying jobs. I’m currently at level nine, and I have access to 1,500 plus words. And if the Verblio Gods are smiling on you, you will be sent assignments. Assignments are different. You are the only writer working on that piece, so you have a much better chance of getting a purchase from the customer, though the customer does have the ability to decline the work if it isn’t up to their standards. More on that later.

First, the Good

One of my favorite things about working for Verblio is the fact that I can do it whenever I want. I have taken months off at a time and came right back to it and continued working as if I never left. Not too many jobs will let you do that.

The forum is full of supportive and veteran writers who are friendly and always willing to lend a hand to newbies. I was immediately impressed by the community of writers at Verblio. They are some of the most diverse and interesting groups I’ve ever met in any writing community.

Another nice thing about Verblio is that you can and will gain access to higher paying jobs the more you write. Even if your work is declined by customers, you still earn points for writing. Enough points gets you to the next level. If the customer buys, you get points again for a purchase. I’m not 100% sure how the points are awarded, but they do add up quickly so it won’t take long to level up.

Now, the bad

Unfortunately, there are some issues with the platform. For me, the worst thing I’ve encountered at Verblio is writing a piece and not getting paid. When you first start writing for Verblio, you aren’t likely to get assignments, so you are going to have to find jobs on the market. That means that your work may not be the only submission that the customer has to pick from, and you might not get paid for your work.

If this happens to you, just remember that you still get points for submitting the piece, which puts you that much closer to the next level. Also, you can recycle that piece on another platform or for another customer that is asking for similar content. With a little editing, you can still make money from the piece.

Also, it’s true that there are plenty of platforms that pay more than Verblio. Platforms such as WriterAccess and Scripted might pay more. I haven’t personally tried these platforms out myself, but I’ve seen others mention them on the Verblio forum.

Verblio has a rating system and the customer can leave feedback. Now, this may be a sticking point for some writers. Getting negative feedback on your writing never gets easier. What I’ve learned is that everyone has an opinion of what constitutes a good or bad writer. Some folks might think that Stephen King is a terrible writer. I don’t agree but to each their own.

Then, there is the dreaded decline. Ouch, they really do hurt. Declines hurt you and the customer because now they have to wait longer for someone else to write the piece and you are stuck with an article that didn’t sell. Again, you can sometimes re-work the piece and submit to another customer or use it somewhere else.

Just remember that it’s not personal. The only thing you can do is follow the customer’s instructions and hope that they know what they want because you are not a mind reader. If you get a bad score, just chalk it up as a learning experience and move on.

I’ve had a great experience at Verblio and I would encourage all writers to at least check it out and give it a chance. It has filled in the gaps for me financially over the years, and it really is a very supportive platform.

thought leaders
Like

About the Creator

Angela W.

Gardening is my love language <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.