01 logo

What company makes NYPD riot helmets?

Riot helmets are manufactured by a number of different companies. I have personally seen helmets from these companies at police training exercises, as well as police departments in a variety of countries.

By ww tacticalPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

For those of you who have never had the pleasure of seeing a New York City police riot helmet in person, I present this image. As you can see, the riot helmet is heavy, and has thick padding. The riot helmet is designed to protect the wearer’s head and neck from impact from rocks and other projectiles, and even the skull and face of another person. The riot helmet is not a good choice for a light-hearted demonstration, and in that respect it’s much like the bike helmet. If you’re going to put on a riot helmet, it’s not going to be a light-hearted demonstration.

Riot helmets are manufactured by a number of different companies. I have personally seen helmets from these companies at police training exercises, as well as police departments in a variety of countries. In the US, riot helmets are manufactured by Vollmer, Nel-Tec, Kiekert, and Paquette. I’m sure there are others, but these are the ones I’ve seen.

I’m going to make a prediction, and I’m going to make it without checking with the manufacturers first. The NYPD riot helmet is manufactured by Kiekert, because Kiekert is a German company. The most popular helmets are Nel-Tec and Vollmer. The Nel-Tec helmets are made in the USA, and the Vollmer helmets are made in Germany. The Nel-Tec helmets are the most popular in the US, and the Vollmer helmets are the most popular in Europe. That is interesting, and it’s true, but that’s not the end of the story. Kiekert helmets are more expensive than Nel-Tec or Vollmer helmets. They are also more difficult to find. Kiekert helmets are not sold in the US. I don’t know why, but Kiekert helmets are sold in Germany. The Nel-Tec helmets are sold in the US, but I have never seen a Nel-Tec helmet for sale in Germany.

I have seen the Kiekert helmets, but they’re not sold in Germany.

Why would a German company manufacture helmets for the NYPD? I have no idea. Perhaps they want to expand into the US market. Perhaps they want to expand into the US market. It’s an interesting idea, and I’d like to hear from readers about it.

What is the history of the riot helmet?

The riot helmet has a long and storied history. As far as I can tell, it’s been around since the 19th century. The riot helmet is one of the most famous examples of a safety helmet.

As I understand it, the riot helmet was invented by Frederick Smith. The riot helmet was designed to protect the head and neck of a police officer from the force of a rock or a bullet, or the force of a blow to the head from another person.

The riot helmet was originally made of leather, but the most popular riot helmet is made of Kevlar, which is a polyester fiber. Kevlar is a great material for a riot helmet. It is extremely strong, but it’s also very lightweight.

I have a picture of a riot helmet that I took in 2001, when I was a volunteer at the Free Library in New York City. I had no idea at the time that I was photographing a riot helmet. I’m surprised that I took the picture, because I had no idea what I was doing.

I took a picture of the riot helmet in the main reading room of the Free Library. The riot helmet is sitting on a table in the main reading room. I don’t know how it got there. The riot helmet is the first helmet I’ve ever seen at the Free Library.

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.