01 logo

Valley of Dragons Blood

Lightening in the Blood Red Sky

By ME ClarkPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Sargon descending from the Blood Red Sky

There weren't always dragons in the Valley. Bee remembers the times earlier to the dragons coming. You were never truly safe before the dragons came to the Valley. Closing her eyes, she could breathe in the memories with the scent of the heavy mist in her nostrils of the days gone by.

The Dragons were from Great Mother Sky in response to the Circle Dance the women did years ago. A plea for help when their magic had started to dry. Their faith had started to waiver and their pleas to the Skies above, the Earth below and the winds between were answered. A thunder of Dragons circled them in the skies flapping their wings, thunderously and dangerously as their fires spouted from their glorious beaks. Plumes of dark smoke echoed behind their colorful scaled tails in the red, darkened sky. Ominous yet serene in a way. All of us knowing this was in answer to our offering.

The day the dragons arrived there was a great shaking of Mother Earth, the Great Sky cried with blood rain and the Queen Winds shook the barley something fierce, announcing to the plains that something was about to happen, and we should pay attention. The earth shook so much that the sacred willows bent and their beautiful boughs touched the Earth as a reminder to us that we bend but never break. Our mighty Oaks dancing in place strength and unity in their groves singed by the dragons fire, but blessedly none burned down. The significance of this lost on none of us. A knowing of the beauty unfolding in our souls.

As each dragon circled our village on the plain in the Valley of Sage that day, you could almost see their eyes darting and weaving amongst the people. Wingspans of 20 feet elegant with treacherous intent, yet not harming a soul. Their numbers eclipsed the sun from us. Assuredly not looking for their prey. We knew they were looking for their new human partner. They were looking for their new homes. The Dragons were looking for their person to protect and serve. How brilliant was this? Uncanny I had thought at the time, that they would pick us and that we would not pick them. Or, at least a mutual picking?

I knew then that I would not be getting a Dragon that day, that my role as the Healer and Seer in the Village was much greater because I heard the voices in my head of every Dragon in the Big Sky as they were choosing their person. I was in awe of the gift given to me and mesmerized by the beauty of their thoughts and elegance of their minds. I was not afraid of the beautiful Dragons and knew I would soar the skies with these beautiful beasts and create magic with each one of them for all time.

I was instantly filled with so much joy my eyes teared as I watched each pairing take place and explained to my tribe what was occurring and why they were being paired. Introducing them to their Dragon by name. Such a humbling experience. There were some that needed tending to that day, burns, cuts and scrapes with salves and ointments. Accidents do happen with Dragons.

There was one Dragon named Sargon in particular I was fond of from the beginning. She was paired with a young girl named Hannah who was 8. Sargon was in a battle on the way to us and had a terrible gash on her neck and when I went to tend to her the electricity from touching her rocked me,aa flying backwards 10 feet. She healed instantly from my touch. From that moment on, we bonded immensely and I understood that I was to be her surrogate until Hannah could fully manage.

I was to be the Mother of all Dragons. The healer of all Dragons. The protector of them all and I could not be this if I had my own to protect and serve. Each pairing was to protect and serve each other. Not Mother Earth, Big Sky and Queen Winds sending the Dragons to Village of Sage to protect and serve us but for us to protect and serve each dragon as well.

I reeled with an overwhelming sense of awe at this gift given to me and knew that this blessing from the Earth, Sky and Wind would be a joy to behold for me. I never took it for granted through the years since. That is why I will tell you the story of the Valley of Sage and why it became known as "The Valley that Danced on Dragons Blood". Our Village became a magical time beyond any expectation after years of bloodshed but it took some getting used to.

future
Like

About the Creator

ME Clark

When you put the words on paper or screen and watch the characters come to life, it can completely transform your world, your mood and your universe. Living around the world, I have loved to move people and places into different arenas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.