01 logo

The Shy Person`s Badass Guide to the Good Life

Sometimes you feel like Batman. Either is possible.

By CiprianPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Shy people change the world.

They`re just too humble most of the time to take credit. They rather want to sit quietly and watch their creations change their lives.

When I was a kid, I was terribly shy. My mother deliberately had other kids play with me until one or two friends stuck to me like glue. Then other kids came in and I wasn't shy anymore.

As a writer, I'm still very shy. I hate posting my own photos. I don't like recording video. I like to post my words online and let them speak.

I like the idea that words are mysterious rather than videos and podcasts that have some degree of intimacy built in. I don't want to be intimate with internet enthusiasts. This is a guide to the shy life I wanted to have when I was a kid.

Never talk about shy

The worst thing you can do is go into a room full of strangers and say, "Hello, I'm shy."

Whenever I attended toastmasters speaking in public, I saw it. Shy people from the dungeons of some of our banks' investment departments will have the courage to attend the Toastmasters.

Then they ruined things by telling people that they had shy problems. So people will avoid them like corona

You don't have to tell people that you're shy. Most of us have no idea. We are busy trapped in our hearts full of fear and doubt.

What we say to the world is true. Eliminate the word shy from your vocabulary and stop interfering with your ability to build relationships.

See shyness as a superpower

Shyness is often considered a weakness. It`s not.

Shyness is a superpower you`ve been given. It means you talk a lot less than the loud beasts who never know when to shut up and are full of themselves.

Some of the greatest humans in history are shy:

Bill Gates

Emma Watson

Albert Einstein

Warren Buffman Buffett

There`s something about quietness that amplifies the best ideas in the world.

Ditch the label

Labels limit your potential. As soon as you roam the shy towards reality, it hijacks your abilities. You are not really shy. You are a unique person with goals and dreams like everyone else.

Sometimes you`re shy. Sometimes you feel like Batman. Either is possible.

Force yourself to meet new people

Meeting new people is definitely harder as a shy person.

My wife can be shy. She overcomes the restrictions by going to a meeting and asking a stranger, "Wow, what do you want to work on?"

These One Sentence icebreakers cut logs through tension like an ax. Suddenly she forgets to be shy and finds her in the middle of an entertaining conversation. The better she builds a relationship, the faster her confidence grows.

Trusting new people is an antidote to shyness.

Maybe you're just grumpy about who you spend your time with

(I read it once on Twitter.)

Maybe it's not shy at all. Perhaps your standards for those who catch your eye are higher than others. Maybe you rub your shoulders with everyone in the bar and don't bring their colds, coughs and sexually transmitted diseases home.

Maybe someone needs to be intrigued to you before you start talking to them. You might collect friends like you would collect a vintage car. You only need one or two to feel like you have some collectibles.

My friend's circle is much smaller than before. Call it shy or call it the careful curation of people. I will make you a judge.

Many believe that shy and quiet people have hidden benefits.

Noisy beasts will say you are too quiet.

But keep in mind that every dead beat that says it has another person who thinks you're a great listener. Silence is great, disguise and listen. I think it's pretty good, companion.

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Ciprian

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Ciprian is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.