01 logo

The Price of Betrayal: When Love and Loyalty Collide

"Learning to Let Go: The Painful Aftermath of a Love Triangle"

By VPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Betrayal hurts, but so does losing a friend. #LoveTriangle #Regret

Ella and Sabine had been best friends since they were little girls. They shared everything, but they never thought they'd have to share their heart.

One day, they both fell for the same guy, Liam. They tried to ignore their feelings, but it was hard when they both felt so strongly. One evening, they sat on Sabine's bed, talking about Liam.

"I can't stop thinking about him," Sabine said, twirling a strand of hair around her finger.

"I know," Ella replied, looking down at her lap. "I feel the same way."

Sabine looked at Ella and sighed. "What are we going to do? We can't both have him."

"I don't know," Ella said, her voice barely above a whisper. "I don't want to lose you over this."

Sabine shook her head. "Me neither. But I can't help the way I feel."

Ella looked up, her eyes filled with tears. "I know. Me too."

The girls sat in silence for a few moments before Sabine spoke up again. "Maybe we should just tell him how we feel and let him decide."

Ella looked at her in surprise. "What? No! We can't do that. It'll just make things awkward."

"But we can't keep pretending like everything is okay. It's not fair to anyone," Sabine said, her eyes pleading with Ella.

Ella sighed. "Okay. Fine. But how are we going to do it?"

Sabine thought for a moment before speaking. "Let's invite him over for a movie night and just tell him then."

Ella nodded, feeling nervous but relieved that they had a plan.

The night of the movie night arrived, and Liam showed up with a smile. The three of them settled on the couch, but the tension was thick in the air.

Finally, Sabine spoke up. "Liam, we need to talk to you."

Liam looked between the two of them, sensing that something serious was about to happen.

"We both have feelings for you, Liam," Ella said, her voice shaking.

Liam's eyes widened, and he looked at Sabine, who nodded in confirmation.

I had no idea," Liam said, his voice quiet.

"We didn't want to ruin our friendship, but we couldn't keep it a secret anymore," Sabine said, her eyes brimming with tears.

Liam looked between the two girls, feeling overwhelmed. "I care about both of you so much. But I can't choose between you."

The night ended in tears and heartbreak. The two best friends left Liam's house feeling hurt and betrayed, unsure of where to go from there.

After that night, things were never the same between Ella and Sabine. They tried to move on, but the hurt and jealousy lingered, and they slowly drifted apart. In the end, their friendship was broken, and the memory of their broken hearts would haunt them both for years to come. Days turned into weeks, and weeks turned into months. Ella and Sabine barely spoke anymore, and when they did, it was awkward and strained. They both tried to move on from Liam, but the pain of losing their friendship made it hard to let go.

One day, Sabine ran into Liam at a coffee shop. They talked for a few minutes, catching up on each other's lives. Liam asked about Ella, and Sabine told him that they hadn't spoken in months.

"I wish things could go back to the way they were," Liam said, a wistful look in his eyes.

Sabine sighed. "Me too. But things can't go back to the way they were. We can't change what happened."

Liam nodded in agreement. "I know. But I miss both of you so much. I hate that our friendship fell apart because of me."

Sabine shook her head. "It wasn't just because of you. We both made mistakes."

Liam looked at her, his eyes pleading. "Is there anything we can do to fix it?"

Sabine shrugged. "I don't know. Maybe we can try to talk to Ella and see if we can work things out."

Liam nodded. "Okay. I'll talk to her. Thank you, Sabine."

Sabine smiled weakly. "No problem. Good luck."

A few days later, Liam called Ella and asked to meet up. She was hesitant at first but agreed to meet him at a park. They sat on a bench, looking at each other awkwardly.

"I'm sorry for everything that happened," Liam said, his voice soft. "I never meant to hurt either of you."

Ella nodded, her eyes filling with tears. "I know. But it still hurt. Losing our friendship was the hardest thing I've ever been through."

Liam took her hand. "I miss you, Ella. I miss our friendship. Is there any way we can try to fix it?"

Ella looked at him, feeling torn. "I don't know, Liam. I don't know if I can trust you again."

Liam nodded, understanding. "I know. And I don't expect you to forgive me right away. But please, let's try to work things out."

Ella thought about it for a moment before nodding slowly. "Okay. We can try."

Liam smiled, relief flooding through him. "Thank you, Ella. I promise I'll do everything I can to make it up to you."

And so, slowly but surely, Ella and Liam began to rebuild their friendship. It wasn't easy, and there were still moments of hurt and jealousy, but they both worked hard to move past it. Sabine was happy to see them reconnecting, but she couldn't help feeling left out.

In the end, Ella and Liam became close friends again, but the damage had already been done. Sabine and Ella never fully reconciled, and their friendship was forever changed by the broken heart they shared.

how to
Like

About the Creator

V

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.