01 logo

The Origin

where it all began

By Tim GuercioPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
"It's beginning to cost a lot like Christmas"

Hi my name is Tim Guercio I’m with the Christmas team and this is our origin story, I’ve spent a really long time trying to figure out my identity in this world, I’m really grateful for my parents that brought me to the united states at a young age from the slums of Mongolia and they’ve given me every opportunity to succeed in life and I want to thank you guys so much.

I remember in my 20s going to college for business management and still pursuing soccer which was the absolute love of my life and I said I’m going to play professionally and I did along with playing for the Mongolian national team after living in Mongolia for two years I came back to the states and I came to a realization, that soccer was not going to sustain me forever so I started out on this journey I decided not to go back to school and i started my first company a digital marketing firm, and yeah it was great it was okay it made me a little bit of money but it just wasn’t what I wanted to do. It was a really neat industry but I wasn’t passionate about it and it just felt like a job to me.

After that I bought a Landscaping Franchise and after devoting three years to it going all out making it as big as possible, I ended up making bad partnerships and on the brink of bankruptcy but I told myself you got yourself into this now you have to get yourself out and that’s what i did throughout that process I started figuring out what I really wanted in a business i knew it had to be profitable so that I can live a life that I wanted I wanted something scalable so that it didn’t always require me to do everything but what I also discovered was that I wanted it to bring me joy and that it also brings joy to other people and that it had meaning and that I’m not just doing it for the money i wanted something a little bit better.

So I remember trying to figure this all out and walking down the road one day in my neighborhood in charlotte and i saw some of my friends hanging lights i got excited about it and they asked me to come along and shortly after that we had neighbors wanting to get it done and it started spreading like wildfire and more and more i realized this is something that people really want and that i could fulfill people were paying us good money and time and time again after plugging in these lights and seeing these beautiful displays i said wow this is something that i could really do this was a business that i could have people seem to pay a lot of money for it i could hire out my friends or other people to get the likes done and the end result.

I could see was bringing joy to other people’s faces but it also brought joy to my heart so i set out on a mission to figure out how I can make this business incredible i borrowed my dad’s SUV , I put on an elf hat with my grandpa who was my best helper who later passed away and i will always cherish my moments with him and we set out on this mission to spread light to the world after a few years of costly mistakes and sleepless nights and figuring out how we can make it better we started improving what kind of lights we had we thought about how we can make the customer experience the best out of anybody else and how we could spread light and joy to the community of charlotte

I saw us getting mentioned in different local news stations for putting up Christmas lights and coming up with wonderful displays and handing out candy canes in our elf uniforms and finally i thought i made it we’ve done it I’ve created a business that’s checked all my boxes I remember a few years ago setting up our last house for the evening this family comes out and tells us we’ve grizzled their house and for any Christmas lover out there they knew that we made their house as bright as the starry sky and all these neighborhood kids came out and started singing Christmas carols around us as we were ready to plug in the lights so that everybody could see what we did it was such a sweet moment for me a few days later it was Christmas and i remember going to my family with a bundle of gifts that i was able to buy with all this extra income that i had from my side hustle business that all of a sudden became an incredible influence in my life.

I remember paying for a bunch of fancy high-tech gadgets that my brothers wanted and paying double the price for it for them to only play for 10 minutes but it was okay i didn’t care because i was delighted to be able to provide something like this to my brothers i remember bringing gifts to my parents gifts that they would enjoy and bring value in their life not just stocking stuffers and i remember handing these gifts over to my family and feeling so proud and so grateful that they came all this way to give me an opportunity and then now I’m able to give back to them and carry on a legacy and go on to leave a much better life not just for us but future generations to come and this is all thanks to some beautiful lights.

Today we’re on a mission to expand globally to give our elves to the world and have your home our community be a beacon of joy love and hope for the holidays and to help others build a really great Christmas lighting business as well my name is Tim Guercio my company is the Christmas team and I want to thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to light up the world for the holidays.

photographythought leadersstartupsocial mediapop culturehow tobook reviews
Like

About the Creator

Tim Guercio

Forbes Business Council Member and the founder of The Christmas Team, a light installation company . Other than handling businesses Tim is also an Ex Pro Soccer player, Sales & Fitness Coach.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.