01 logo

The new thing I can't live without!

40 years old and fabulous!

By Jessica KirchnerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The new thing I can't live without!
Photo by Barbara Zandoval on Unsplash

The new thing I can’t live without.

I hadn’t exercised in two years. I had torn the quadriceps tendon in my right knee. My knee was so weak that when I bent it or lifted it my whole leg would tremor. After the surgery I was not allowed to move it for months. I was a very active nurse before and after I found a new nursing job that would allow me to be less active. Sitting at a desk in my own office to be precise. It was a year into this new job that the pandemic began. So not only was I sitting at my desk, but then my whole family ended up in quarantine and I was working from home.

I made the domestic thing look easy. Making dinner and occupying the kids while working for 8 hrs. from the couch in front of the tiny little laptop. Like a lot of people with the pandemic I became depressed. I tried making myself work out on the treadmill and I was so awkward. My knee would hurt, buckle and I was afraid I would face plant on the spinning black belt. I did some gardening but staying outside during the summer became difficult and lord knows there wasn’t a pool to be found in 2020 much like toilet paper and cleaning wipes.

I put on weight, I wanted a way to get up and do something, yet I wasn’t motivated. This is the story of many other people who have managed to wait out this pandemic. It wasn’t until late February of 2021 that I found what I needed to bring me back to the land of the living. I was aimlessly scrolling Facebook when I saw Oculus Quest 2 ads. I have tried the PlayStation 4 VR it was bulky and tethered with cords. Not that it wasn’t fun it was. When I saw the Oculus ads, I decided I had to have it. Luckily enough the $300 dollar purchase price came in the form of a birthday present from my family.

I was so excited to play! The first game came at the request of my teenage daughter. It was called “Beat Saber.” You dance using the controllers to swipe at blocks with arrows using your hands as light sabers to music. I purchased the Linkin Park tracks, the Panic at the disco pack. I haven’t added the modifier to add more music yet, but I will soon. I realized at that point that I could workout using the Oculus. Novel idea, I know playing alone, working out and moving without leaving the house.

I found “FitXR” next. It had dancing and a boxing fitness program. The first workout I was hooked. I did a 9-minute video of boxing called “chasing fire.” You jab, lunge, squat, uppercut and do side punches. Every few minutes you switch your stance from left to right and try to stay light on your feet to specially selected music and fitness coach voices. The boxing is my favorite, but many people love the dancing as well. This made me look further for other active games.

“Supernatural” is another fan favorite. The subscription is $20.00 a month after a 30-day trial but it is well worth it in my opinion. You have light bats with balloons coming at you from a portal telling you which way to swing your arms. The tutorial covers everything you need to know to start. You fall into a rhythm of dance, squats, and lunges. They have a wonderful selection of music and instructors. Each video is a new location stunning views of nature. Just last night I did my first “Super Monster workout.” I had a view from the foot of Mt. Everest. It was a 46-minute workout, and I couldn’t be prouder that I made it all the way through. There is something for everyone.

There are games you purchase directly on the Oculus or in the app from your phone. Every genre you can think of. You can sit and play Tetris and other games if you don’t feel like having a workout. The Vader Immortal series from Star Wars is a fun immersive game. It is short lived for the story, but you have a dojo to learn to become a Jedi that you can play repeatedly. They have first person shooting games, meditation programs and a real VR fishing game that is fun to fight a shark on a rod and reel. There's virtual common rooms that will allow you to be social if that is your forte. Truly something for everyone.

I joined a few Facebook groups one called Oculus for ladies. Another for Oculus users 40 yrs and over. I have seen instances of 70 yr old's enjoying the benefits of moving with virtual reality. I will never be without virtual reality again. I feel better, and I am having fun doing it. I was never able to get the so called high from running and I tried. But now I can workout at any level and it keeps my attention. I have never minded not being in the gym. I do not like the germs, the smells, and the people. I am an introvert and the Oculus quest 2 is perfect to keep to myself. If you ever buy a gaming system this is the one, I recommend. Do it for yourself, in this time we all need a place to ourselves. It is a mini vacation, that is until the kids start yelling or tapping you on the shoulder.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.