01 logo

The Lock of Heart · Chapter 1

Years ago, Ellie closed her heart due to an accident, but a harmless fib at tonight, unexpectedly opened the door to a destined love.

By Lyrical DreamerPublished 5 months ago 5 min read
Like

I mustered up the courage to confess to the handsome traffic police officer in the middle of the road:

"Officer, is it considered assaulting if I give you a kiss?"

"Yes," he answered without hesitation.

Later, he pressed me against the hallway wall in my home, lowered his head, wanting to kiss me. I turned my head to the side and said:

"Didn't you consider it as assaulting?"

He smiled, then gently kissed my forehead:

"No, it doesn't count if I kiss you."

------

During the graduation season in college, wave after wave of gatherings took place. In the private room of the restaurant, my roommates all took their seats with their boyfriends, leaving me, the only singleton, squeezed in the middle.

Upon inquiry, I found out that they had planned to bring their boyfriends when I wasn't in the dormitory, and since I was single, they didn't bother informing me. The food had yet to arrive, but their mouths were far from idle.

I couldn't help but wonder if their mouths were equipped with magnets; how else could they stick together as soon as they got close? I sat awkwardly in the chair, fidgeting with my right hand and, unable to bear it, cleared my throat while lowering my head.

It seemed to work; all six of them promptly returned to their seats.

"Ellie, we don't treat you as an outsider, you don't mind, right?" my roommate Jane, adjusting her lipstick, looked at me.

I grinned awkwardly and said, "Why would I mind? Couples in love, I understand, I understand."

After saying that, I muttered in a voice only I could hear, "It's not that they don't treat me as an outsider; they just don't treat me as a person. Is the life of a singleton not considered a life?"

"Huh?" Jane obviously didn't hear the latter part clearly, leaning in and offering her ear.

"It's nothing; just treat me as if I were invisible. You guys feel at home, just like in your own homes."

Upon hearing my words, my roommates burst into laughter. Their boyfriends, holding back laughter, had faces turning crimson.

"Ellie, I remember you've never had a boyfriend, right? That's a shame; you haven't experienced the joy of kisses."

"Here, we can't treat it like our own home; you'd have to pay to see that."

-----

They teased me with one joke after another, thoroughly enjoying themselves.

"Ah, be careful, everyone. Shiyi is still innocent. Don't corrupt the child," our dorm's big sister, Wu You, who usually got along with me the best, said while suppressing a smile, trying hard to maintain order.

"Oh, by the way, Ellie, my boyfriend's brother is still single. How about I introduce him to you? Except for not being very good-looking, everything else is great. He comes from a wealthy family, definitely a match for you," she added.

"Looks aren't everything; you can't eat good looks. Seriously, my boyfriend's brother is okay. Ellie, you should meet him first," Liu Yue and Ding Ning chimed in.

They were making a fuss, and Wu You joined in as well.

" I have a suitable candidate too, nearby. He's a guy..."

I gave her a glare, and she immediately stifled her voice.

They didn't notice my changing expression at all, enthusiastically introducing their "high-quality men" to me, like reincarnated matchmakers.

When I looked at the photos of the guys they pushed toward me on their phones, I struggled not to spray out the sip of water I had just taken.

A protruding mouth, crooked teeth, a face full of pimples...

Looks aren't everything, but they shouldn't make it impossible for me to eat!

The big sister craned her neck, happily handing me her phone, "This one is too... maybe you should look at mine!"

I was furious and gave her a signal, and she immediately sensibly withdrew her hand.

"No, thanks, everyone, for your kind intentions. I already have a boyfriend."

I lied with my eyes closed, wanting to quickly end this topic.

They all leaned in after hearing that, looking like they were ready for some excitement, "Who is it? Let him come over."

I turned my head to look out the window, and coincidentally, a traffic police officer on duty in the middle of the road entered my field of vision.

I raised my hand and pointed in his direction, "He's quite busy now."

-----

Looking over there, all of my friends are shocked.

"Ellie, the one in uniform?"

I nodded nervously.

Jane: "Oh my god!"

Serena: "Oh my god!"

Anna: "Oh my god! Oh my god! Oh my god!"

Jane and Serena wore expressions of disbelief, staring at me. "Ellie, are you kidding?"

"Of course not. Let's just finish our dinner, the dishes have been here for a while." I instinctively avoided eye contact, trying to change the subject, but it didn't work at all.

The group gathered around the window for quite a while.

"Ellie, after we finish eating, take us to meet him. Roommates should support each other; we can give you some advice," Anna said, shaking my arm.

"He's busy; don't you disturb him," I buried my head in the bowl, afraid of saying another wrong word.

After dinner, Anna and Jane were still persistent, pulling me to a crossroads. We were close to the middle of the road, where I could see the handsome traffic police officer with his clear and charming appearance. His high nose, delicate features, and every inch of his body seemed perfectly tailored to my aesthetics. Adding to that his handsome directing of traffic, my heart raced as if under a spell.

My roommates pulled me forward, but I resisted, trying to move backward. In this tug-of-war, I attracted his attention. He glanced in my direction, then quickly looked away.

"Ellie, he looked at you! But why does it seem like he doesn't know you?" Anna questioned.

"He saw a crowd; he's quite shy," I improvised to explain.

"Oh, then you go by yourself and tell him we'll wait for him when he finishes his duty."

"No..." I began, but before I could finish, I was already pushed onto the road.

With no other choice, I reluctantly approached him. Originally, I was so shy that I stumbled over my own feet, but the moment our eyes met, I seemed to lose all rationality.

"Hello, officer, I'm Ellie."

"Mm." He nodded, looking at me.

"Is it considered assaulting if I give you a kiss?"

I didn't know why my true thoughts hadn't reached my brain before they tumbled out of my mouth. After saying it, I felt awkward and almost choked right there.

He first showed a hint of surprise, a slight upward curve at the corner of his mouth, but it quickly disappeared. Then he spoke coldly, "Yes."

Summoning courage, I continued, "The police are for the people, and the police and the people are of one mind." I pointed to my roommates at the end of the crosswalk. "I was just bragging to them that you're my boyfriend. Can you help me out when you finish your duty? Otherwise, they won't let me off. Please."

I pleaded, looking at him, but before I got an answer, the traffic light changed colors. He turned around and began directing traffic.

It's over.

He must have never seen a crazier person than me. I covered my face and returned to my roommates, making up various excuses to fend off their questions. Except for Serena and her boyfriend, the others clearly didn't believe what I said, but since I smoothly handled each question, they couldn't say much.

As we prepared to leave, after taking a few steps, hurried footsteps came from behind.

"Ellie......"

-----

To be continued......

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Lyrical Dreamer

Wandering Poet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.