01 logo

The death of a laptop.

You failed me in my time of need.

By Destiny WooldridgePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
The death of a laptop.
Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

To My Laptop,

You have been around for five years now. And we have been through a lot together, but you have always been a piece of shit, and always made me want to pull my hair out. You also have always been there for me when I needed you to. You were there for me through all of my heartbroken letters and playlists you helped me put together. You were there through all the pictures editing of the love of my life and the long long love letters. You were there through my boredom and my Facebook games. You were there for my Netflix and Chill phase. You were there through it all.

Now that I need you the most you are slowly fading away. I question what happened for you to have a broken screen and black spots along the screen. I need you so I can type my stories in comfort. I need you for my research. I need you for checking my Stats on Vocal.media. I need you so I can start my writing career. I know I am selfish with you, but you were bought to be mine five years ago. Here you are now failing me at my time in need.

I will replace you. I don't know when or how considering I am nothing more than a stay at home mom with no financial income, but one day I will replace you. I do not know when or how but I will replace you. Maybe my next laptop will be bigger and better. Maybe she will have more storage. Maybe she will have a better hard drive. Maybe her keyboard will light up. Maybe she will last longer than five years.

Don't get me wrong. I appreciate everything you did for me, but I constantly had to do factory resets on you. I always had to have my husband fix you. I've had to put too much time into. And I've gotten little enjoyment or work done over the years because of how much work needed to be done to fix you all the time.

I will miss you while you are gone and I don't have a laptop and sadly I won't be able to post as many stories onto Vocal. I just really don't have a good work area, but I can still write my stories down or type them into Google documents. I will learn to be patient while trying to save up for a new laptop. Maybe some good will come of this. Maybe some new ideas for some stories even.

I do have a desktop computer, but it is pretty old. I also have a very tiny desk and no desk chair. I have to stand or sit in an uncomfortable wooden chair that hurts my back. Therefore, laptop you will be dearly missed. You have helped me entertain children I have baby-sat over the years. You have helped me with school work when I was in highschool. At one point you even helped me plan my perfect wedding.

So I thank you for everything you have done for me and I also say goodbye. I know I was selfish with you and I thank you for putting up with me most of the time.

If any of you creators feel for me and have a heavy heart please leave a tip so I can add up to get a new laptop or please leave a like. Thank you for reading! I hope you all never have to experience the death of a laptop when y'all need your laptop the most.

gadgets
1

About the Creator

Destiny Wooldridge

Currently a stay at home mom who is also going to start school in January 2021 to get my RN license. I am also learning how to love myself that way I can be a better fiance and mother.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.