01 logo

Technology is $tupid

Helping people become dumber since...forever.

By C. M. SearsPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Technology is $tupid
Photo by Rahul Chakraborty on Unsplash

I remember growing up without computers, smartphones, or anything smart, except people. I remember when I was mesmerized by the stories I heard by my grandparents and their friends, I loved hanging out with older folks when I was a kid because I learned so much, and what kids today don't realize is that these people are walking history books. Although in this day and age, this young generation is doing its best to erase history, but that is also what these smart devices are teaching them...that history is just that...history. How is this generation supposed to learn not to repeat history if there is nothing to remind them? Now we have cars that can park themselves...actually they can drive themselves too...so why bother to learn how to parallel park when your "smart" car will do it for you? There are smart phones that take better pictures than a $5,000 professional camera with all the special features and lenses, which is awesome, but now everyone is a professional photographer, and they can go to websites like Zenfolio, Shopify, and Picfair to sell them...which takes the flair right out of anyone who spent thousands of dollars on college to make a career out of it. I am currently typing this on a touchscreen laptop! I injured my wrist at work and Workmans Comp bought me a new computer to help me start a new career, they gave me $1000 toward a new computer, so I bought one. I will admit that I love it, but I remember handwriting everything I am typing now 40 years ago. Cursive has gone away because now everyone signs everything electronically, and it's not really "required" anymore, so more identity theft is happening and it's so easy, anyone can "type" a name, right? I know it isn't quite that easy, but still technology has made me and everyone else lazy and spoiled. Tell me what you would do without that device that tells you everything from what time it is, to making sure you're able to lock your house up and turn off the lights from hundreds of miles away. It's insane how smart our devices are, from Televisions that can do literally everything including record shows, freeze them in real time, mirror shows from our smartphones, and be commanded by voice,

By Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

to smart vacuums that roll around with an animal usually riding it, cleaning the floor at will...then the darn things know to go back to its "docking station" when it is done...it's crazy. Then we have smart dishwashers, smart speakers, smart bombs, Alexa, ok google, smart watches, smart faucets, smart soap dispensers, toilets, towel dispensers, lights, and now there's an app for literally everything including spelling and math so why learn it in school? Everything is so smart it's making the whole world dumb. I feel like if suddenly the whole world lost connection by smart everything for ONE DAY, the world would freak out because they couldn't live without that stupid little electric brain they are glued to all day. I watch people with their heads down walking around like zombies, and accidental suicide has gone way up since the development of the smartphone because so many people have fallen off cliffs trying to take a stupid selfie, it's ridiculous! I go to a restaurant now and it's actually quiet in a full house because nobody talks anymore, they are all staring at thier phones, and then my pet peeve...parents put your damn phone down and pay attention to you children! Do you know what you're missing being buried in a stupid device all day?? I also hate it when lazy parents don't want to engage with their children, so they throw a tablet at them or turn on the television to entertain them then the parent is free to do what they want.

By Rohit Farmer on Unsplash

Instead of buying your child the next big thing like an Xbox series X, take them to the beach or park, teach them frisbee golf, or real golf, read a book to them or have them read to you! do something else because I have to say being consumed by smart devices...is ruining the world. I know that I do not spend every waking second looking at my phone simply because I can't. Most days I am working on a project at home or working, I will admit for the job I am doing currently I must use my phone because I am an UberEATS driver and that is the only way you can do the job, but on days off I am usually doing things with my husband, and the phone rarely gets used, unless I am taking food pics for reviews or pictures to post on Facebook, and let's not forget the cost of such dumb smart devices, they are extremely expensive, they range anywhere from $450 to $600 and up, and yes you can buy a used smartphone but you are taking the chance that it is damaged in some way. Also, they are all designed to fail within a few years so that you have no choice but to buy a new one. That is also how all of the wireless companies make their money. All of these companies like Apple, Samsung, Motorola, and the like have to constantly upgrade designs so they can continue to profit. Also making sure to change the charging cord designs so that you can't use one cord to charge another type of phone like Apple's iPhone cord won't fit a Samsung Galaxy 10 or Motorola razr. However, they are now coming out with waterproof phones because I can't tell you how many times my kids have dropped their phone in the toilet! That's a plus I suppose. I am just wishing the world wasn't dumbed down by all the devices out there, it would be nice to see a lot more together, and a lot less separation. As John Lennon states in his famous song "Imagine" he says "You may say I'm a dreamer, but I'm not the only one, maybe someday you will join us, and the world will be as one" and that my friends is what I pray for every day.

I hope you enjoyed this, if so please "heart" it for a like, and if you're feeling the love, then a tip would be awesome...but never is it required. Thanks for reading.

C. M. Sears

future
1

About the Creator

C. M. Sears

I am learning more about writing every time I write a new story, whether it be fiction or fact. I love this platform and will continue to write and learn...if you like what you read in any of my stories please click the heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.