01 logo

Social Media Anyone?

It’s No Secret We Do Things For Everyone Else But Ourselves

By Sam Writes SecurityPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Image by Gred Altmaan from Pixabay

Our lovers, friends, and basically everyone else. I’m not sure where you are in the world but people didn’t really quit partying due to COVID-19. Apparently we’re learning to live with it, we’re making a few adjustments here and there, we’re not really quitting, we cannot quit, we choose to adapt instead.

I thought I couldn’t keep a mask on me for more than 10 minutes when COVID knocked on our door, it was some what suffocating but now, if it was part of the Olympics I’d be on the top ten list :). I’ve managed to keep the mask on me for quite some time, so much that I sometimes forget I have something on me besides my glasses. Not to mention how much of a terrible combination this makes. I know someone, somewhere has glasses on, and can relate.

Career Updates Go Online

Photo by Anna Tarazevish from Pexels

Why? Well, because connectivity, and so that people can learn more about you which is both good, and terrible. Especially because privacy is no longer an option. People get to know about you, where you work and the company you work for. So, as long as you make a change professionally we get to see it, after all you are on Linked-In aren’t you? FYI I’m on Linked-In too.

Special Events Make Their Way To Your Profile

Photo by Marily Torres from Pexels

This is getting out of hand, people do this so often that maybe if you won the Lotto and got a million dollars you’d share it with the world, only to realize that your actions might open doors you wouldn’t want wide open. We share the best experiences with the world. We’re probably big fans of Nike ’cause we “Just Do It”.

We Share With The World When We’re Sad

Photo by Burak Kostak from Pexels

Losing someone is never easy, we’ve all been there. It will happen again sadly, and at some point we’ll be the ones people lose. But, should the whole world know about this? Why? I understand, WhatsApp is great to share messages and files with close ones, and sometimes clients too, this is understandable. But, when it goes on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter what exactly are we looking for? Blessings, condolences and what else, from who exactly DO YOU EVEN KNOW ME?

Your Life Online

Photo by Anna Shivets

“You’re engaged? Congrats! That’s great! I wish you all the best, BESIDES THE FACT THAT I DIDN'T MEAN THAT”

That was a comment I made on Facebook I left what's in caps to myself. My comment wasn’t the first, I think there were at least 150 before mine. Because apparently I only got to see the post almost a day later. Whatever changes you go through on your relationship need to go at least to your WhatsApp profile. It usually isn’t for you, but for everyone else who follows you to know. And, sometimes you’re not even happy with sharing but you have to. Your partner needs to feel accepted, loved, and worth a month at least on your Facebook wall. Isn’t this awesome?

I know, I’m only looking at the negative side of things, there are probably good reasons for you to share some of your life experiences with the world, but not really everything. The thing is, one way or another we’ll find out. Someone’s dad is another person’s favorite author, policeman, teacher, Doctor, writer etc…

There world may not know what happens to your brother or cousin but the world will know what happened to a hero, a fighter, you name it. We don’t have answers for every possible question you might have, but not every question needs an answer. I personally love mystery don’t you?

social media
2

About the Creator

Sam Writes Security

Writer | Cyber Security Enthusiast

https://samwritessecurity.medium.com

"[email protected]"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.