01 logo

'Snatch': A Review

Is it really worthwhile?

By EsmePublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I first downloaded Snatch, an app that claimed to award me real life prizes for free, I have to admit that I was very skeptical (as I'm sure many other players were, too) as to whether this app was legitimate. However, I am very glad I pressed that download button.

Believe it or not, Snatch is not a scam. It is a completely legitimate app that allows you to win genuine prizes. The best part is that it is free and available on both Google Play and the App Store.

Another bonus is that, amazingly, Snatch requires hardly any effort at all. The aim of the game is to find parcels in your local area and collect them using AR (you can turn off the AR if you wish but that's all part of the fun, so shame on you if you do). You then have to keep your parcel for six hours before discovering what is inside.

However, it's not that easy. Once you have found your parcel, other people around you who are playing the game can 'Snatch' it from you, meaning you lose the parcel and the prize that would have been revealed had you managed to hold onto the parcel for the whole 6 hours. Similarly, you are able to 'Snatch' other players' parcels. You can defend your parcels using defence tools, and so can the other people whose parcels you're trying to steal.

After I managed to hold my parcel for 6 hours, I was very excited to see what was inside. When the parcel was opened, I discovered I had won 2 months free of Sky Cinema with Now TV. I was chuffed to say the least, especially because I had put minimal effort into playing an actually fairly entertaining game. Other prizes include free pints of beer from certain restaurants, money off vouchers for places like Missguided and coins to spend in the game on your defence tools.

If you are concerned about safety, there is no need to be. The app never reveals your location to other players; instead, you are just told that someone is near you or in your area. The app's developers are also great at catching players who are 'spoofing' their location (using a mock location app to make you appear wherever you want on the app), so don't bother even trying that. You will get banned. For life.

I have been playing 'Snatch' for just over a month now and I am very pleased with it. It is a great little app that is easy to use and is genuinely entertaining. I would even go as far as to say that the real-life prizes you win are a bonus. There is even a community of 'Snatchers' on Facebook, and I have to admit that I am a member of some of these groups. It is great to talk to other people about the prizes they have won and exchange any tips or tricks for playing the game.

This app has definitely revealed my competitive side. I often find myself determined to fight off other snatchers and defend my parcels for the whole 6 hours. Overall, I would say that 'Snatch' is absolutely worth a download, especially now the app is getting more and more popular. When I first started playing, there were only 3 other people nearby who were playing too. However, there is now at least 10 of us, making the game a lot more fun—and hard!

My advice would be to just give it a go. It's a free app so you have nothing to lose, and maybe a lot to gain... like some sunglasses or flip-flops...because let's be honest, who doesn't like free stuff?

apps
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.