01 logo

Saudi Arabia Claims TikTok Suppressing Positive Content About Saudi - Like TikTok's "Dirty India" Videos

I will say it over and over again TikTok is filled with propaganda and it's usually western countries or India

By IwriteMywrongsPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like
Photo Created by Author using CANVA

Thursday, 21 December 2023

By: TB Obwoge

Once again TikTok shows that this biased, racist and sometimes propaganda filled app is dangerous. It's more than enough content showed that lets you know the social media giant is biased against India.

When I post Independence Day videos for India they get very little views, I have several TikTok accounts at this point, all with Sim cards from different countries.

I've now resorted to people in other countries posting some of the same posts, nothing, very little views.

While reading my morning news, that spans my entire day, I came to an article by the Saudi newspaper Arab News. Which I find to be one of the best newspapers out of the 100 or so I've come across.

Meanwhile, Saudi Arabia's claims are that TikTok is not allowing positive videos about the country to get views. I've never seen any video on my TikTok about Saudi Arabia, not one!

Saudi calls to boycott TikTok mount as platform denies discrimination

Calls to boycott TikTok in Saudi Arabia have intensified since the launch of a campaign accusing the video platform of unjustly censoring and banning Saudi accounts expressing positive views about the Kingdom.

The momentum behind the boycott has grown as concerns over TikTok’s alleged algorithm manipulation and biased treatment continue to provoke outrage among the platform’s Saudi user base.

Many users have turned to alternative social platforms to denounce TikTok’s alleged restricting of pro-Saudi content, with the trending hashtag #BoycottTiktok accompanied by posts urging Saudis to delete the app.

One X user, @ayedarini, urged others to boycott the app, claiming the platform is engaging in a “war against us.”

The user added: “It has become clear that it is targeting Saudi accounts and promoting everything against them and their country. Boycotting it has become a duty for every Saudi.”

A recent post by @X_Tiktok_, a dedicated profile advocating for the platform’s ban in the Kingdom, expressed strong disapproval of TikTok’s “unacceptable” and “abusive” behavior, pledging to persist in its campaign against the platform.

“TikTok still continues its malicious bias with its violating policies on Saudi users’ posts, especially national clips,” the post said. “Saudi Arabia remains a red line and the Saudi people remain strong and strict in their defense of their country, religion and leadership.”

Source Arab News

TikTok posts the most misinfromation about Africa and mental health that I've ever seen personally. It's so bad that I rarely scan the app, I just post things which are news from African newspapers and about ending violence against women and children. Of course my content isn't spread widely, it's because it's advacate for the end of abuse of children and women.

Most people hardly like posts of ths nature, even when over a thousand people see the posts they rarely like them.

However I notice how much negative content gets pushed to the front of my eyes, as well as hundreds of thousands of users. It's sad because TikTok is extremely popular.

I read the Arab news daily, the things I see changing within Saudi Arabia actually ecite me and make me want to go to the country. I really want to see Mecca and I know I'm not Muslim but it really tugs at my soul as a place I would love to see and pray at.

Some of the comments from Saudi's are slightly angry that the country is becoming so "tourist-sy" I can't really put a word on it. Many say, that's haram, but Saudi looks amazing and I really would love to learn their history, learn Arabic and see the country.

I wish TikTok would show it more because I've even tried searching for Saudi Arabia, I can see content, the first one was pinning the United States against Saudi. That was pretty negative however I was able to see some content, however I was hoping that it would then place the content onto my FYP (For You Page) but it didn't.

I hope to see Saudi Arabia for myself before my life is over.

Thank you for reading 🙏🏽 Please consider buying a coffee for Lacey’s House efforts in Gender Equality & Children’s Rights as it tries to move international.

©️TB Obwoge 2023 All Rights Reserved

pop culturesocial mediaapps
Like

About the Creator

IwriteMywrongs

I'm the president of a nonprofit. I've lived in 3 countries, I love to travel, take photos and help children and women around the world! One day I pray an end to Child Marriages, Rape and a start to equal Education for ALL children 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • hassen fraih4 months ago

    very good

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.