01 logo

Passing Ships

Sometimes two passing ships are what you need to not revisit the past

By Lynne BlackPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

When you think about two passing ships in the night; it usually refers to two people who know each other but are not in the same place at the same time.

But what happens if you are in a relationship, yet don’t seem to be on the same page as your partner? Well, imagine if you are away from home and meet someone who makes an impression on you.

Although you would love to spend more time getting to know someone; time may not permit. One of you leaves before you can say goodbye.

Wow – that first look.

That voice?

And, then silence.

How many times in our lives have we hoped or wished we had more time?

Why do things happen we cannot control?

However, what happens when two ships sail together? For once in your life, you decide to go with the flow.

Moreover, if you are single; try to do something different each day or week. For instance, if you encounter a person or situation; even though that may not be what you had in mind; why not go with it? For example, you are running around doing errands and encounter someone who has your heart racing hit pause.

In my opinion, it is best to try something new. Whether you are adventurous or complacent, why not take a chance?

If you continue to do the same thing repeatedly, you are not giving yourself the opportunity to live in the moment.

Perhaps, your luck may change.

Set off to enjoy the sunrise or sunset!

Embark on an adventure!

When I was single and ready to settle down, I started looking at things differently. So, off I went to try different things. I tried Speed Dating and online dating.

Of course, on many of the dates that were set up, I was happy to say goodbye.

However, during my single days, I met the love of my life. But wasn’t expecting it at that time.

I was doing some paperwork at a local restaurant/bar and of course, me being the klutz I am, I dropped a pile of papers. Well, this gorgeous guy walked in front of me to help me pick up all my papers. Had I been closed off; I would have missed out on meeting the love of my life.

I was open to new possibilities.

Moreover, if I wasn’t, we could have been two ships passing in the night.

Being the chatty Cathy I am, I thanked him and made a joke that I’m always dropping things. One thing led to another, and we ended up chatting some more and he asked if I had eaten.

“I said I was just going to order”. So, he suggested we grab a table and talk.

At the end of our time together, he asked for my phone number. One thing led to another and today, I am happily married for 18 years and counting.

Next time you find yourself in a unique situation, you may want to hit pause.

Don’t forget a special memory.

Maybe, you want to go back and revisit a place or connect with an old friend. Along your adventure, you may find the answers you are looking for. So, no more wondering what if!

You may find yourself in store for a big surprise.

For once in your life, think outside the box. So, next time, you find yourself not wanting to walk away from someone, don’t.

Or you may find walking away is the right choice.

Finally, when it comes to certain people in our lives; although they may be gone; they are still memories or things we can cherish and remember.

In summary, sometimes two passing ships are what you need to not revisit the past. Sometimes, dropping anchor isn’t the best course. Maybe, it’s best to move on. And other times it may be a good idea to stay on course. You never know…

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Lynne Black

Hi - I'm Lynne Black, Founder of Fashionista Bombshell Whims!

I'm a Freelance Writer/Blogger and Published Author.

My stories and posts offer a peek into my life.

Of course, my goal is to inspire you through my books and articles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.