01 logo

Opportunity Is Knocking Are You Listening?

Opportunity Is Knocking

By Rajeev SharmaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I had a real “Eye Opener “ Experience yesterday regarding opportunity in our lives. I know someone who has financial problems and I have been trying to help out by offering advice.

This individual dropped by to tell me that an incredible opportunity had come their way. At first I was so happy for this person, as they now had a way of getting out of debt and possibly having a large sum of money on the side. Then they said something that just blew me away!

So, this person has a debt that must be payed. They are not working, and are in desperate need of getting some work and becoming financial again….You would think given the person’s circumstances they would have jumped on the opportunity, right? Well, no!

I have wrote earlier on how important I believe motivation is for our lives, and I have been trying to help this person lift their own motivation levels up…

If you are wondering what the opportunity looked like, it was a job paying over three hundred and fifty dollars (US) per day guaranteed, for doing a job that did not require any special training or education.

Okay, so guess what this person told me?

They said to me “ Hey this would be a great opportunity that I could pass on to someone”!

I nearly fell over right there. I couldn’t believe it!

This person has been telling me for quite some time, all their sad and sorry tales of debt and financial problems. Now, when good fortune pays them a visit, that’s the best response they can come up with.

To be honest, at that point I just did not wish to talk with this person anymore. It seems that some people just cannot be helped. Or is it really a case of some people refusing to help themselves?

Why Did This Person Throw Away This Opportunity?

This is a tough one! The crazy thing is that, the person had mentioned something about a great job opportunity previously(not the amount of money involved) and seemed pumped up(well, at least a little positive) when talking about it….

Here’s a great article on the, Pick The Brain website called Overcoming a loss of Motivation, written by John Wesley…

One important thing John mentions in that article is that, Motivation levels can ebb and flow(go up and down)…

So, one minute we can be really looking forward to something, then later on we no longer care at all about it!

This does sound a bit like what happened to that person I spoke with, and how they threw away a great opportunity….

Though, something was missing!

That night I kept thinking to myself, “ Why would someone refuse the helping hand of good fortune when it’s the one thing that they needed most at that time”?

A light switched on!

Then it hit me How We reject Life’s Opportunities

I had to admit that I had a problem with learning how to defeat Procrastination for quite some time…. and I am sure many of you are facing one big challenge to overcome, or another…

Here’s the big one.

The reason I got so annoyed with this person throwing away a fantastic opportunity when it came their way, was that I could see myself in that person! Or, how I used to be.

Read about Eye-Catching Name Ideas Digital Marketing Company

Think about it.

There is an old saying that goes something like: “ What we dislike about others, is a reflection of what we dislike about ourselves”! or ” We see in other what we dislike about ourselves”!

This may sound unusual, though, it makes sense.

As far as how we waste opportunities in life, the fact is there would not be anyone out there who doesn’t have some issues dealing with Opportunities when they present themselves.

After all, we’re not perfect are we?

This brings me to another important lesson we can take away from this encounter.

After this person said they were not interested in this great opportunity, I went from somebody offering help to someone in need, to a person looking down on, and judging someone I was supposed to be helping…

I mean to be 100% honest with you, I started really hammering this person….and lecturing them…over and over….

Why did I do this?

Surely they didn’t deserve this! After all, I was supposed to be helping them right?

Then another light went off in my head!

All the time I have known this person they have never once made any real effort to change themselves or to better themselves in any way…..no matter how many opportunities had came their way…

My lecturing this person was simply my ” totally having gotten fed up with this person making excuses” This latest excuse was the final straw…..

Yet, this is exactly what we all do from time to time, in our own lives….

The one good thing that came from this encounter, was that it has helped to motivate me to stop making excuses and get into the ” Action habit”….

The life lesson that we can learn from this is that, we need to take action in life and stop expecting someone else to take responsibility for our own life decisions.

This is the only way we can ever expect to achieve our goals and dreams.

gadgets
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.