01 logo

My time with Ionos 1&1

Make sure you connect each of the packages you purchase.

By Vanessa GreerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by <a href="https://unsplash.com/@halacious?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Hal Gatewood</a> on <a href="https://unsplash.com/s/photos/ionos--marketing?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Unsplash</a>

Ionos is an all-in-one website, domain, host, rankings, and whatever else you need for your online business. I use the terms all in one loosely because they have everything in one spot but they fail to put all your orders in one spot where they need to go. Instead, it starts you at square one with every contract.

If you know what you are doing that's you'll be ok. But if you are starting an online business after using nothing but Microsoft office clipart since you graduated high school in 1995. Then the site is harder to follow.

I didn't know the difference between my packages. And every time I turned around they were trying to sell me another product.

Me, not being educated and jumping in headfirst thought, " well their my domain provider, must be that, I need this to have my presence online. Which even that, would be better than what they were doing.

The first product I sighed up for was a Thirty day trial of their ranking coach. It normally runs hire but along with the trial I would get it for $94. a year.

This came with my website, email, and the website creator. Cool, all this sounds right. Then I go to create my site and I get a notice about security Well we all need some more security, right?

So in the cart, it goes. When I did this I just assumed Ionos would know that I wanted to secure the email address connected to my site. Oh, no that would be too easy.

After a while of meddling with my site. I'm fully frustrated and I get a message about email marketing. Wanting me to finish setting up my email.

I got my first inkling that something was wrong. I had already finished setting up my email and email marketing was included in my Rankingcoach package.

Long story short, make sure you are connecting your packages. Because by the time I was through I had access to more than five emails, three sites, four domains, SSL, rankings coach, and none of them were secured with the extra security I purchased. And Ionos doesn't know to do it.

I've had to call and have one of their tech guys do it. The call lasted about an hour, or well almost an hour. In the end, I learned I needed to cancel some stuff but currently, their cancelations department was closed.

This has been a difficult normal. Anytime, I need to change my bill, or billing due date they have made it awkward as hell.

Why in the heck does someone like me as a start-up need all of this stuff unconnected? The sites' big enough it could afford an extra secure way to ask if I wanted my contracts connected.

Uh, no Mr. Ionos I really enjoy eight payments a month of $3-$10. Oh, come on now. You should do better your making tons of money by the handle.

In the meantime, I just say screw it. I've got three domains, surely I could get it right.

If I through enough darts at least one will hit in the bullseye.

That's what I've learned Digital market at the time (I'm still pretty new). During my and Ionos's ' interlude, I had to figure out somethings. Or watch my PayPal money eat eating alive by patments of $5 each.

That was a mistake though. Because without their help with my account I was lost inside internet hell. This is after I've been through two Ionos assisstants. Neither helped with my issues.

The third assisstant sets me all up. She connects all my adress to one account and finally.

Like I said the website sreator was easy enough but how do I put this thing out there. With three domains all pionted to my website with to much security but no way to get money from AdSense.

Finally, I have contacted the department at Ionos I needed. I think I can get some stuff done. Have you noticed yet, I haven't given this website a plug.

See this is not becaus eof Ionos. But I'm still stuck in internet hell, With no way out.

So, instead I decided to kepp working with different income streams. Like, Vocal Media and Medium. I do studies on Prolific, the usertesting, and small tasks from Mturk as well.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Vanessa Greer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.