01 logo

My review of Zorin Linux OS Lite

Zorin Linux OS Lite is hidden gem, literally

By thepavsalfordPublished 12 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

The dreaded moment that my old laptop stopped working

When I bought my inexpensive Laptop Lenovo G4030 14" (N2840/2GB/500GB/HD), I was very glad to grab a bargain.

It is a slim machine that has more than stood the test of time and proved to be an investment that paid back many times over the years.

Unfortunately, however, just like all good things in life that come to an end, the time that I feared the most arrived, and, suddenly, there was a black screen that wouldn’t turn on in front of my eyes.

Linux vs. Windows

I forgot to tell you that I had already changed the default Windows 8.1 operating system of my laptop to Linux Mint 20.2 Xfce at some point.

I did so due to the fact that the original Windows 8.1 OS was a bit heavy on the system.

For example, when I opened multiple windows while working on translation projects, the 2GB RAM seemed to struggle, making the laptop really slow.

After changing to Linux Mint 20.2 Xfce, my laptop got a new life, and seemed to work even better than when it was brand new!

So, Linux literally saved my life then.

When I found Zorin Linux OS Lite

Overall, I am very satisfied with using Linux Mint all those years.

In the end, however, I had problems applying Linux updates to the system.

I am not a programmer or developer myself by any means, and to be honest with you, I expected to run into problems with the Linux commands sooner or later.

When the screen went black and my laptop wouldn’t turn on for a second time, I was in the middle of a translation project.

I tried to use another, older laptop that I had kept for emergency cases like this one, but it wouldn’t turn on, either.

I went to my sister’s shop and asked her to use her computer to search for solutions to my problem online.

I tried to turn my laptop into a Chromebook, but I couldn’t do it.

Then I started searching for other, lightweight operating systems that I could use on my laptop.

I visited the Linux Mint website, but I couldn’t remember how I had changed my OS the first time, and now, everything seemed to be very complicated to me.

Finally, I came across Zorin, which proved to be a life-savior, as well.

Useful features of Zorin Linux OS Lite

To tell you the truth, I couldn’t believe that an operating system as user-friendly and lightweight as Zorin Linux OS Lite existed, let alone for free.

In spite of its minimal layout and user interface, Zorin Linux does its job more efficiently than many other operating systems.

For example, there are versions and distributions of Linux-based operating systems that come with installation instructions that an average laptop user would find hard to follow.

This is not the case with Zorin Linux OS Lite, and I can testify to that, based on my own experience.

The people who developed Zorin made sure that its installation is as easy as possible.

On top of that, they made things easier for non-developer users by making the software updating process really smooth.

At least, this has been my personal experience with Zorin so far, and I hope that things will stay like that in the future, without any nasty surprises in store.

Just like Linux Mint, it has LibreOffice pre-installed, and I would dare to say, with a better user environment.

It’s definitely worth giving Zorin a try.

If you don’t want to permanently install it on your system, you can install and run it alongside your current operating system.

Sometimes, it is a matter of personal taste and choice, and some PC and laptop users may not like the simplicity of Zorin Linux OS Lite that much.

In this case, Zorin offers other options that can meet the needs of more demanding users.

For me, however, it can more than meet my needs as a laptop user.

Sources and further reading:

Zorin OS 16 Lite Review – Perfect Combination of Beauty, Performance and Simplicity

My experience with Zorin OS lite 16.1

5 Reasons to Try Out Zorin OS (and Which Edition to Go For)

Zorin OS Lite 16.1 – A Ultimate Linux Desktop with Windows Feel

Zorin Reviews & Product Details

Zorin OS 16 Lite is a Classy Distro for Low-End PCs

tech newsproduct reviewapps
Like

About the Creator

thepavsalford

Hi,

I have written articles for various websites, such as Helium, Hubpages, Medium, and many more.

Currently, I work as a translator. I have studied Tourism Management at college.

See you around on Vocal Media!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.