01 logo

My friendship with Sarah

The story between Sarah and me

By AdairPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
My friendship with Sarah
Photo by Manja Vitolic on Unsplash

My friendship with Sarah has been a great reward since I moved to the outskirts. Many years ago, while studying at art school, she was upstairs studying design while I was downstairs studying oil painting. After her classes, she would come to our class to hang out.

Thanks to Facebook, we were able to stay in touch through the art school's Facebook group. As her Facebook feed gained popularity, I often saw her updates: visiting the local library, taking photos under the city skyline, working in an art studio. Although my own profession had nothing to do with art, I admired her dedication to painting and would frequently like her posts. From her photos, it seemed she wasn't far from me, and I wanted to meet up with her, chat, and enjoy the sun together. However, our busy lives prevented us from meeting.

Years later, our children got accepted into universities, so I moved to the suburbs. Looking at her Facebook feed again, I noticed the picturesque scenery near her home, filled with diverse trees and blossoming flowers, unlike the neatly trimmed parks in the city. I took the initiative to contact her and discovered that we were indeed very close to each other. I visited her art studio, which was on the ground floor, and the floor-to-ceiling windows were adorned with lush plants, bathing the room in abundant sunlight. As soon as I entered the studio, my eyes were overwhelmed by the surroundings. From the walls to the ceiling, every design was created by Sarah herself. The ceiling depicted a blue sky with white clouds, while the walls were adorned with vibrant flowers and plants, emanating both artistic and childlike charm.

Conversing with Sarah was incredibly enjoyable, as if I were chatting with another version of myself. I couldn't help but think that perhaps, at some crossroads in life, I had taken a different path, which eventually led me to become the person I am today.

As we grow older, we gradually learn to appreciate things that are vibrant and impactful, such as the graceful figures in a sports event or the highly saturated colors of children's artwork.

Sarah's art studio showcased numerous paintings by her students, emanating a thriving enthusiasm. One particular painting caught my attention: it depicted a black cat surrounded by a white tablecloth, enjoying a fish meal. The child who created the artwork had incorporated various patterns and colors onto the fish, turning it into a vibrant creature ready to attend a lavish ball. The cat, solemnly dressed, was preparing to feast upon this colorful fish. In this artwork, the world turned upside down: the fish, about to be eaten, exhibited lively form and a cunning expression, as if it could jump out at any moment, while the cat played the role of a devoted servant, ready to partake in a grand feast. The dark humor in this small artwork was that the feast took place inside the cat's belly. Hence, the cat remained composed, and the fish didn't lose hope; the cat solemnly prepared to savor the delicacy, while the fish eagerly awaited the challenge. Such peculiar and joyous scenes, with stark contrasts and a touch of enchantment, could only be found in children's artwork.

Innocent children, unaware of the practicality of the world, have the freedom to create such atmosphere. They express the beauty they see through their own unique perspective, which is awe-inspiring. Another memorable painting portrayed a vase with a few flowers, and perched atop the vase was a ladybug. The ladybug appeared oversized, as if it were about to tumble from the vase. The juxtaposition of the colossal ladybug and the vibrant flowers created a striking contrast, with vivid colors that harmonized perfectly. I was astonished by the intense visual impact presented in these paintings. The children were not confined by ordinary aesthetics; instead, they enthusiastically portrayed a large ladybug and a lively, soon-to-be-eaten fish. Similar artworks were abundant, and I felt as if I had entered a whirlwind of colors, a peculiar paradise.

Stepping out of the art studio, the hyacinths bloomed splendidly under the sunlight. I squatted down and carefully observed these spring flowers, feeling envious of Sarah's ability to approach these tiny figurines and engage in conversations with these vibrant, spirited children. They moved her, inspired her, and it felt like stepping into a fairy tale of spring.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Adair

Record daily thoughts and growth, share interesting stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Adair is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.