01 logo

If Walls Could Talk

Short Story of a Wall That Talked the Day It Was Meant to Be Torn Down.

By Angel VaroPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like

If walls could talk is a question asked by many. I have a lot of memories but could never really talk until recently. I really can’t explain what I’ve been through, I have experienced so much from the best to the worst.

Some memories were rather pleasant like seeing a new family move in and paint the walls while laughing and making their own memories, while their 5-year-old painted a chair not knowing he had to paint the walls. Rather than being scolded, his father picked him up laughing and teasingly telling him “You are my adorable marshmallow” his son had a wide smile while his wife snapped a picture sealing the memory forever. Other memories such as having a near death experience by being torn down to expand the house I reside in, but thankfully they stopped since I am the very foundation that holds up a great part of the house. I had similar horrible memories as witnessing death itself, even though I’m just a wall I still have a semblance of empathy. A gruesome murder that stained the other walls as well made it nearly impossible to be cleaned off, so I call these types of moments the lonelier times. I would go years maybe decades without seeing any inhabitants due to the crimes committed, it has happened more than once. Sometimes I get to see families in generations which brings me the most happiness since I can see a whole family tree unfold in front of my very own eyes, but it still doesn’t remove all the horrible memories that have stained me no matter how many coats of paint I was given nor the number of times I was cleaned it still is burned deep in my memories.

I have witnessed how the first TV was made, the family at the time were ecstatic to watch funny comedy shows, although I prefer the recent shows. I always thought the black and white was very vague. There’s also horrible events such as a war that broke out I was one of the few houses that got spared of destruction, I even provided shelter to families which at first made me quite upset seeing them scared but with war I also witnessed the best in humanity. The adults made sure to shelter their children from that horrible event making sure the children ate first and I saw families coming together helping each other as if they were already one big family to begin with, even though the war itself was horrible seeing these families help one another as if they were one really moved me and gave me faith that humanity isn’t all that bad. I am over a century old, yet I experienced the most beautiful and the worst of humanity, I do prefer happy endings though but sometimes life isn’t like that even for a wall like myself.

I was given the chance to talk about what I been through, I even helped close a few cases of murders and disappearances that happen within these walls. Now that I have told everything I know there’s still a lot more to talk about, but history tends to repeat itself, so I’ll just be ranting on forever. I was in a dilemma where I was about to be torn down but by some miracle I managed to talk, so even after going on about my life story, it hasn’t changed their mind after all I’m only a wall and not human like them. I’ll soon be gone, this house that was built on beautiful and horrible memories alike will be torn down to the ground to make room for a stadium to replace it. Even though I will soon meet my end I just wish the other walls could’ve talked to me if they were like me, I maybe wouldn’t have felt so alone this whole time until the very end.

historyvintageinterviewfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Angel Varo

I like writing stories and make very creative ones. The stories I make will have you intrigued and engaged to the very end! I also write heartfelt poems make sure to check it all out and leave donations if I provided you entertainment!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.