01 logo

How To Buy M1 Mac Mini (Max) for $149/mo

Pay $0 interest and save 50% on Apple Care!

By KabirPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I have not upgraded my Macbook Pro for 5 years. I was waiting for the Apple-Silicon based Macs to come out first. Then they did unexpectedly fast! I was planning to buy in the third or fourth quarter of 2021. However, as I increased my video editing activities lately, I have found it harder to work with a mid-2015 Macbook Pro.

Even though I had a maxed-out version of the 2015 Macbook Pro with 16 GB of RAM and 2 TB of SSD, the newer cameras use the H.265 (HEVC) format of video encoding the old Macbook Pro couldn't handle. I decided to buy an e-GPU and configured macOS to work with it. It was working fine until I upgraded to Big Sur. The updated macOS broke e-GPU support, and I was back to struggling with video editing again!

Finally, I gave in and asked my company to provide me with updated hardware!

Unfortunately, due to COVID-19 work-from-home situation, our hardware refresh program became complicated and was put on freeze! This was when I had to take the purchase matter into my own hands.

I looked at a few options and decided that I should try to use my Apple Card to get the maximum benefits of buying Apple hardware. It turned out great.

I decided to buy the M1 Mac Mini with 16 GB of RAM and 2 TB of storage.

I wish it was more like 32-64GB of RAM and 4-8 TB of storage but Apple didn't have anything beyond the 16 GB and 2 TB options.

I used my Apple Card to finance it with $0 interest for 12 months. The hardware + one year of Apple Care came to a $149/month payment. Also, Apple Card instantly gave me a 3% cashback. Taking the 3% cashback into account, the $99 Apple Care becomes 50% off!

I was pretty happy to shell out $149/month for a much better video editing experience, along with all the other bells and whistles that M1 brings to the desktop.

I am enjoying using Final Cut Pro, which is optimized for M1. Bear in mind that I am a beginning level video editor, so I don't mess with the plugins and color grading stuff that pros do. I have heard that even though Final Cut Pro is optimized for M1, the pros find the complex stuff still to be a struggle for the M1's built-in 8 core GPU.

I love the new M1's performance. I love how fast the browsers run--both Chrome and Safari. Here is my one-week review video of the M1 Mac Mini:

how to
Like

About the Creator

Kabir

Technologist for life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.