01 logo

Get a Superior Mobile Movie Experience With Ximmerse Visor X

Ximmerse Visor X allows for a one of a kind movie experience by streaming on-the-go.

By Tony Anthony GregPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

As an old-fashioned film connoisseur, I've always had my doubts about the new technology being utilized in movies. Whether it was the implementation of 3D in the early days of IMAX, the over-usage of CGI in modern films (ask me about what I thought of the Justice League movie), or the VR capabilities of today's best technology, I was never really enthralled with drastic changes to my movie-going experience. I've always watched movies for their intrinsic, storytelling values.

Well, that all changed just recently.

One thing I never took issue with, at least from a convenience standpoint, was the ability to watch movies on-the-go. And what I mean by that is, that I have always wished there was a way for me to watch movies everywhere I go. Sure, I have my little iPhone, but do you really think a film buff like me would watch Heat on a tiny screen like that? Please. You couldn't PAY me to do that.

My girlfriend (who is also a huge film-buff, we met at a midnight screening of The Room), recently bought me the all-time best gift a movie lover could ever ask for—the Ximmerse Visor X. After reading the description of this thing, I couldn't believe it to be true.

But boy, is this thing the real deal.

This visor is a phone screen magnifier that allows you to watch movies from your phone, without feeling like you're getting a cheap, knock-off experience because you're looking at a tiny little rectangle. In fact, it's pretty much the complete opposite—one could actually argue that it's a better experience than a traditional movie setting (and this is coming from someone that absolutely loathes advanced technology in movies). Let's just say even CGI isn't my thing (although, I've come to accept it as a mainstay in filmmaking).

I was shocked to learn that the Visor X only, technically, doubles the size of your phone's screen. However, the technology actually makes it look like you're watching a movie on a 100” screen from 2.5 meters away. That's a hell of a lot better than the 32" Sony TV I watch movies on at my house.

It's compatible with 4.7-6.0 inch mobile phones, so unless you have a really old iPhone 4 or something, you should be good. Regardless, the picture on this thing is breathtaking, and I don't use that word very often. The HD technology and advanced optics make for wider and clearer images, as well as noticeably enhanced contrasts. The images, even on older films, appeared beautifully colored and eye-popping.

The visor itself also only weighs around 255 grams. It's also surprisingly comfortable, and at one point, I didn't even realize I had it on my face.

And I don't think it really needs to be said, but it's a completely handsfree device. One of my initial fears is that it would continuously fall off of my face, but that wasn't the case at all.

Perhaps the best thing about the Visor X, at least in my opinion, was how my eyes held up throughout the entire movie. The first movie I watched was The Godfather Part II, so needless to say, I was in it for the long haul. I, thankfully, didn't get dizzy throughout the entire ordeal (well, maybe when Fredo was killed, but that wasn't the glasses' fault), and better yet, there was absolutely no strain on my eyes.

It's also great for gaming... and more!

I'm not necessarily a huge gamer, but I do, from time to time, play games like Clash of Clans, Monopoly, and (I hate to admit this last one) Fortnite on my phone. Well, it turns out, all of those games are all way more AWESOME with the Visor X.

The device made it super easy to stream all of my favorite games on the big screen. I've never really been one for top-of-the-line gaming systems like the Xbox One or PS4, so it was nice to be able to play my favorite mobile games on a larger screen for a change.

Another cool use of the Visor X was the Augmented Reality effects it had on certain videos. It utilizes an "open concept" technology that allows you to watch how-to's like cooking guides and workout videos while performing them at the exact same time. I think this might have been the underlying reason my girlfriend bought this for me—I've packed on a solid 10 pounds over the holiday season, and one of the first things she mentioned was how I can do "Tae-Bo" on the device. Yeah, not happening. But still a cool feature.

I'll probably buy more Ximmerse products from here on out.

After experiencing Visor X, I'm definitely going to fully re-consider my "no new tech" stance when it comes to movies. Or just in general.

When I went to their website they had a couple of other cool products, including a sweet Star Wars Virtual Reality Jedi Challenges set, complete with faux-lightsaber and all. I'm a huge fan of the Star Wars movies (except for maybe The Last Jedi), so naturally this is at the top of the list. There was also something on the site called the Flip, which is apparently some sort of motion controller that works with any smartphone and VR headset. I plan on getting into the nitty gritty of VR, and thanks to Immerse, and their awesome Visor X, I think I may now actually be a tech junkie.

Go figure.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Tony Anthony Greg

I’m a pretty cool dude who loves to write about anything and everything—mostly the nerdy stuff (but I swear I’m not a nerd).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.