01 logo

Content Aspirations

Polishing my todo list

By ChristopherWritesPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
Like
Content Aspirations
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

I don't want to write just great sentences, I want immortal ones. Words that leap off the pages and into reader’s imaginations. Stories that live on after the last page has turned. My aspiration, as a content creator on vocal, for 2024 is to produce more content. I’ve dozens of stories to tell, with about thirty or forty always on the backburner, on low on the stove. They’re waiting to be written. Stephen King said something to the equivalent of great stories are the ones that you come back to. The ones that curl up with you in bed and pose the lingering questions. What happens next and to who? You let them run around in the yard and open the door for them at dusk. They’re the ones that greet you in the morning when you wake. I understand what he meant, and in a way it’s a great measurement. The longevity test is whether or not a story can hold your interest after leaving it for awhile and putting it on the shelf. Anyway, I digress. I really like the picture with the crisp blackboard and the words etched in chalk. They remind me of the daunting task of overcoming the block with the realization that it’s possible.There’s no suffix. No two little letters standing in the way or outsourcing the productivity of my mind to negative rationalizations. They remind me to do and to think in terms of action. It's too easy sometimes to let those two little letters box and coral, to limit and determine. In the picture there is only what is possible, let’s not worry about the rest. In time, I hope to be able to publish backburner stories, because they all pass the longevity test. To get them as prim and polished as I want them to be. That is one thing I will work towards in 2024. I’m going to explore as many genres as possible. If I had written a todo list I suppose it would go something like this: 1) Write to your heart’s content. There seems to be fewer hours in the day than I have to capture the words that take flight with the wind and I chase with the butterfly net of my pen. I try to get them all down, but I find myself encumbered by things such as work and sleep. There are times when I push myself, and there are times when I don't go further. I’m dancing on the razor’s edge of determination and my own limits. Finding a balance between the two is an artform in and of itself. There is much to do and much that remains to be done. Sometimes I wish there were more time, or that I had better usage of the time I already have. A goal in 2024 is to keep writing and putting out content. I will try to write a little everyday. Vocal.com will provide a platform from which to accomplish this. The vocal challenges are always instrumental in honing skills. They provide a bullseye to aim at. I hope to increase my readership and subscribers. To finish what I started and and to go beyond that. I’ll have to look back in 2025 to see how it went, but for now hello 2024.

listfuturefact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

ChristopherWrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.