01 logo

Cappuccino

By Corey Webb

By Corey WebbPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
3

Taylor was standing at the steam wand trying to make a latte when he was swept away by the sweet vanilla aroma and thoughts of his girlfriend came to his mind. She loved the smell of vanilla and he loved her. Though he had not known her long, he just couldn’t shake his desire to marry her. She was lovely, smart, tender, and caring. But how could he afford to? Ouch, he thought as the heat from the milk brought him back to reality. He poured the milk over the espresso shot and called out the customer’s name. Being a barista is a fun job, he thought, too bad it doesn’t pay enough. After his shift, he was rounding a corner when he noticed a woman in a tailored blazer and diamond earrings nervously smoking a cigarette.

She turned to him and said, “Hey, you make a mean cappuccino and I don’t think I even tipped you. Well, I don’t have any cash on me but you could take this black notebook.” And whispered between cigarette puffs, “It kind of gave me a jump start on life.”

Taylor wanting to just walk away responded, “Um, sure I’ll take your notebook. Thanks.” And he walked once again towards his car. When he arrived he threw the notebook in the back of his old red truck and headed home.

When he was getting out of his truck, Taylor saw the small black notebook the woman had given him. Taylor thought, what did she say it did for her? Gave her a jumpstart on life? That would sure be nice. He grabbed it and headed inside his apartment. He sat down on his chair and flipped through the pages of the notebook. The front page displayed the name, Sharon Reiner. Sharon Reiner, that must have been that woman’s name. The first several pages had what looked like names followed by numbers written in pen. When he got to the end, he flipped back to the front and saw that every page was blank. That’s pretty strange. The front page displayed a prompt that stated “Owner’s name”. Without much thought he grabbed a pen and wrote in Taylor Lorison. Shortly after the exhaustion of the day caused Taylor to fall asleep.

His alarm bellowed and the number 3:30 AM flashed and Taylor woke up abruptly. Taylor noticed the odd notebook on his nightstand and flipped once more through its first few pages. He saw an inscription which read:

My greatest joy is facilitating bliss to my new carrier. I have been in existence for many years and though my exterior has changed, my offer remains the same. I have the unique ability to bestow upon you a sum of $20,000. However, nothing comes from nothing and I am certainly not a paper printer. You must choose people that you have personally met to reallocate their funds to you. All you have to do is write their name and a number amount and their money is relocated to you without harm to them.

What did I just read? This book can give me money? Did that lady hear me say something about my wedding wishes? No, there’s no way I have never said anything about that at work.

Taylor’s eyes noticed the time and he quickly got ready and headed to work. During Taylor’s shift he thought again about his money problems and Kristen, but quickly dismissed any thoughts regarding the ridiculous little black book. But towards the end of his shift, he was consumed with questions regarding it. Is it possible for it to work? I know Peter’s brother Samuel still owes me money for the ski trip a few months back. Maybe I can just use it to get my money back. Taylor was eagerly waiting for his shift to be over and when it was he rushed home.

When he got home he logged on to his online bank account and grabbed the notebook. It has been months since we went on that ski trip. Surely Sam owes me some kind of interest. He owes me $65 and I think it is only right if I charge him a $10 late fee. He wrote in Samuel Grasston and the numbers $75 into the book.

Good job Taylor. You seized upon an opportunity that many would be too afraid to do. Samuel Grasston’s funds have been transferred to you and he will not remember he had them. The remaining amount you may receive is $19,925.

Taylor checked his bank account and saw $75 had been miraculously added to his account. This was thrilling for Taylor and he pondered what other wrongs that had been done to him that he could make right. I remember that kid stole my favorite action figure in third grade. What was his name? Danny? Daniel Smith. I think that toy was at least worth $15 but the tears that were caused by him taking it must be worth more. I think an extra $100 will do it. Taylor wrote Daniel Smith and the amount of $115 in the black notebook.

The remaining amount you may receive is $19,810.

This is crazy. That woman did say this book gave her a jump start on life and me and Kristen could sure use it. What other wrong can I right? Taylor thought first of finding people that owed him money or had broken or stolen possessions of his. But quickly started he started writing names of people that had done anything wrong to him next to an amount he believed their sins against him were worth. As he dwelled on those that wronged, mild irritations became unredeemable acts of violence to him. He ignored Kristen’s texts because he felt she would never understand the lengths he would go for their future.

At the end of the night, the book read:

The remaining amount you may receive is $12,520.

And Taylor was drunk off revenge and power the book provided him. That was amazing. I wasn’t near any of those people but I felt a triumph of victory over all who have hurt me. No one dare cause any affliction to me.

The next day at work, Taylor’s first customer was dressed in a suit and tie with a shiny watch. He requested a hot cup of coffee but mumbled it softly under his mask. Taylor requested he repeat it and in the same tone and volume, the man did so. Taylor repeated his request and the man spoke loudly and sternly that he wanted a large cup of coffee.

“Would you like any cream or sugar in your coffee sir?”

And after no response, Taylor poured a plain cup of coffee and handed it to the man. He took the lid off and said “did you not add cream to my coffee?”. Taylor flustered apologized and took back the coffee and this time added cream. Taylor handed it back to the man and said, “Sorry about that sir. Can I have your name for the order?” The man with a questioning expression responded, “Charles Vusen”. “Perfect. Thank you sir and have a great day.” Taylor couldn’t wait for his break so he could pay Mr. Vusen’s bank account a visit. After pondering the man’s dress and watch he decided the offense of a rich man counted more. He wrote in Charles Vusen with the amount of $5,000 but instead of just updating the remaining amount as the black book had always done it displayed a small paragraph which read:

Charles Vusen has insufficient funds for this transaction. But to fulfill your request I have provided him with a loan from the bank for the amount of $5,000. The remaining you may receive is $7,520.

What have I done? I took from a man with nothing and created debt for him? But why does he continue to dress the way he does? Why does he think he can act like that to me? He is certainly no better than me and yet he treated me like I was some servant to bark orders at rudely. I have no compassion for him and no regret.

After his shift, he headed to Kristen’s and he was trying to figure out how to tell her that their current money issues were over and they could get married quicker than they had believed. But as he thought of her, his mind drifted to her inadequacies. Why is it my responsibility to pay for the wedding? She always expects me to have it all together even when I have all this pressure on me. And I know I caught her checking out that waiter at the restaurant last week. And oh yeah she was late. Is my time not important? And we went to the place she wanted to. By the time Taylor arrived his anger had reached a new height. When he walked up to the door he knocked loudly and without restraint.

Kristen said, “Hey babe! I have missed you. How was work today?

Taylor responded, “I do not want to talk about it.”

“What’s wrong?”

“I JUST SAID I DON’T WANT TO TALK ABOUT IT.”

“Babe just tell me what is upsetting you.”

“You want to know? Do you? Well fine. I work at a dead-end stupid coffee shop and I have a girlfriend that does not care about me.

“What are you talking about?”

“You couldn’t even show up on time to the restaurant you picked last Friday. And don’t think I didn’t notice you checking out our waiter”.

“Taylor I wasn’t…” Taylor interrupted Kristen.

“And to top it off it falls completely on my shoulders to pay for this wedding.”

“Taylor that is simply not true and please lower your voice. My roommate is in the other room”.

“I don’t care who hears me. I am getting tired of you and the way you treat me. I deserve way better than what you can provide”.

“Taylor, we are supposed to be getting married? What has gotten into you?”

“I came here tonight to tell you I fell into some money and could pay for the wedding. But I don’t think I want to spend another cent on you.” Taylor banged his fist on the lampstand near the door and punched the wall causing the lamp to break and a giant hole in the wall.

Kristen bewildered said, “You are scaring me. I’ve never seen this side of you and I want you to leave. We are over.” Taylor had allowed hate and unforgiveness to fester in his heart. Kristen no longer recognized him.

Taylor turned around quickly, too angry to continue speaking, and slammed the house door behind.

Taylor drove home and sat back in his chair. Still angry, he attempted to explain the events that had just transpired. I love Kristen… Why did I do that? I don’t think she will ever forgive me for that. Why do I feel like my wrath can never be satisfied? Why did that woman give me this book? Taylor quickly shifted his blame to her and decided to take his revenge with what was left from the book. Taylor wrote in the name Sharon Reiner and the sum of $7,520.

Taylor, your remaining balance is now $0 and there is no longer anything I can provide for you. Please pass me on so that I may continue to be of service.

Taylor tried calling Kristen several times but never did she answer nor did she respond to any of his texts. His grief fueled his rage. His manager became no longer able to stand his behavior and attitude and he was fired. After spending all the money allotted from the book, Taylor had no option but to move back home with his parents across the states. Taylor as drove he thought $20,000 just wasn’t enough… For years, Taylor continued writing names of people that offended him but never did the book write back.

future
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.