01 logo

Buying Followers & Likes (Good or Bad Idea?)

Discover if buying followers and likes for your social media profiles can help you grow your profiles and get you more engagement.

By Christina SpohrPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

So if you're reading this right now you're wondering if buying likes and followers can help you grow your social media account faster.

What Happens When You Buy Followers and Likes

There are lots of places that you can go to get tons of followers and likes for your social media accounts.

Now what happens if you do buy these followers and likes.

Well when you buy these likes and followers you are buying it for the look or for social status.

Buying these followers and likes does not help you get more engagement or help you reach a broader audience.

These accounts that are liking and following your profile are probably fake accounts. If they are real accounts these are accounts that probably aren't interested in your business.

You might be wondering why they wouldn't be interested in your business?

Well you bought them, they were not seeking out your products or services.

I'll share with you from personal experience.

Back before I switched to an Instagram business account I was using a personal profile for my business. This is when I first started my business.

I thought that buying followers and likes would make it look like I was an authority in my business and more people would want to buy from me.

So after I bought everything, sure my account looked good I had over 5000 followers a few hundred likes on my photos, it looked legit.

But guess what?

It made no difference in my account or business.

I was not reaching more people or getting more engagement when I posted new content, it just looked funny because I had all these followers but only a few people liked my newer posts.

It just looked off, if someone were to look at my profile they would be able to tell that I bought followers.

So I learned from personal experience that it does not work if you are doing it for business. If you're doing it for looks then sure go for it.

Buying Followers and Likes

So should you buy followers and likes for your social media accounts?

I did share my personal experience about buying followers and likes above.

But ultimately the decision is up to you.

  • Is this something that you really need?
  • Will this help your business?
  • Do you really need thousands of fake followers and likes?

Like I said above if you're buying these for clout or for looks then sure go ahead.

If you're buying these for business in hopes you will have more people to engage with your content, then this is something you should rethink.

These followers are not real people, sometimes they might be real.

But the thing is they didn't decide to follow you because they are interested in your business or love your content.

They are following you because you bought them.

You also want to keep in mind that when you post a piece of content it only gets shown to a certain percentage of your audience.

Then if those people who see your post and start engaging with it, the post will get shown to more of your audience and so on.

So think about it if you only have a few hundred real followers and then thousands of fake followers.

And your post gets shown to fake followers and not your actual followers your post is going to have a hard time gaining momentum and it wont get seen my very many people.

If you're still wondering if you should buy followers and likes for your business check out the video below.

Build A Social Following Without Buying Followers and Likes

One of the best ways to build your account to make sure you are getting followers that are real people and want to follow you is to grow it organically.

You do this by actually engaging with people.

  • Liking their photos.
  • Commenting on their profiles.
  • Following them.
  • Sending them private messages.

Posting at certain times on social media can help you get more engagement. (Watch this video to learn how to find the best times to post on Instagram)

Check your social media analytics to figure out what content your audience is liking and not liking. (Watch this video to learn more about Instagram Insights)

You can always have targeted ads that you promote which can help you reach a broader audience faster. But the trick is to make sure you are targeting the right people in the ad and they can relate to the message or image.

This is where testing is helpful. You'll want to try out what works and doesn't work.

Thanks for stopping by! I hope you learned lots.

See You In The Next Post,

Your Friend,

Christina Spohr

IG @thechristinaspohr 

YouTube Channel

P.S. If you found this information helpful I would always appreciate a tip so I can keep creating more awesome content you can learn from and love to read. :)

social media
1

About the Creator

Christina Spohr

Helping small business owners grow their business online.

A tip is always appreciated to help me create more awesome content for you.

IG @thechristinaspohr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.