01 logo

7 Smartphone Apps You'll Fall in Love With

A Few of My Favorite Apps I Use in My Daily Life

By Ashlyn HarperPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
Rawpixel, Unsplash

Since I spend most of my day on social media, computer screens, and editing apps, I like to have a balance of other fun activities to do on my phone when the work day is over. Some of these apps are for enjoyment while others are for shopping, scheduling, and everything in between.

I do want to put out that, while I'm not putting social media on this list, it is part of my everyday life as well. Just like every other person, I do use it to catch up with friends and mindlessly scroll funny memes in the morning. However, since it is an obvious favorite for everyone's smartphone, I thought I would put other apps that you don't always get to see or hear about in posts.

Youtube

I think this is technically a social media app, but I'm not 100 percent sure how they describe it. Either way, I don't use it for anything work-related. Youtube is my go-to app when I'm having a relaxing moment, eating lunch, or just in the mood to go down a rabbit hole. I watch everything from beauty gurus, vloggers, music videos, to odd clips Youtube recommends for me. As of late, my boyfriend and I love to indulge in the React channel and try to guess movies and songs before the people on the show do. If you haven't watched this, you are going to love it!

My Calendar

This app isn't necessarily an entertainment favorite, but a necessity in my life. For you girls out there, this is a great app to keep track of your period, sex, and ovulation each month. I've used this for so long that it has my periods down to a science. While there is a multitude of similar apps like this, I love the simplicity of this app in their functions and add-ons. You can put down everything from your mood, blood flow, or if you used a condom. The more information you give it, the better results it can predict for you.

Memrise and Duolingo

I need to get better at making these a regular in my daily life, but so far they are used on a semi-regular basis. Both of these apps are for learning a new language and make it a fun game. Using pictures, different practices, and repetition, both of these are great for learning a foreign language. You don't have to get both, but I like switching it up to get the most out of each app.

Bloglovin'

I guess you could say I use this for work, but I more use Bloglovin' for entertainment purposes. I would sum up this app by saying it is a Google for blogs. They have almost every blog ever made on this site, and you can follow any that you choose. Instead of bookmarking all of my favorite sites, I follow them on this app so I can read new articles and posts. Once you've read it, you can favorite the post, add it to a collection, or comment. Then it will make the article transparent, so you don't accidentally click on it again in the future. I'll also get lost in the recommended pages finding new sites that I fall in love with daily.

Podcast Addict

While you can use Spotify or iTunes to get all your favorite podcasts, I've always used this app. Similar to Bloglovin, Podcast Addict lets you put all of your favorite podcasts in one place. It will download new episodes so you can listen to them without an internet connection, and gives you the option to speed up the tempo or slow it down. I'm a huge fan of listening to podcasts over music when driving, so this app has been crucial in my life.

Daily Art

I'm not well educated in the art world, but I can appreciate artists and have an urge to learn as much as I can. Daily Art allows me to do this by showing me a new painting each day and explaining who the artist is a brief biography and the meaning behind the artwork. I get a notification every day at noon (I believe you can change it for your preferences) and get a dose of knowledge each day.

Super Cat

I try not to have too many games on my phone. Not because I don't like playing them, but because I'll get so obsessed that I won't focus on anything else until I get to the next level. Candy Crush used to be a horrible addiction for me until I finally parted ways. As of right now, the only game I currently have on my phone is Super Cat. It is relatively new for me, so I don't know everything about it, but it is great fun. Kind of like a Mario game, you are a cat who has to make it through each level (seriously, it is set up like Super Mario Brothers). It's pretty easy to play, has beautiful graphics, and can become addictive if you let it.

Do you have a problem with becoming too addictive to games as I do? I always find myself obsessing over a game until I'm too sick to even look at my phone for at least 48 hours.

apps
Like

About the Creator

Ashlyn Harper

A chaotic room of stories. My curiosities lead me in all types of directions, creating a chaotic writing pathway. I want this place to be for experimenting, improving my craft, and sharing new ideas with anyone willing to read them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.