Poets logo

Malaise of malaise

—-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 18 days ago 1 min read
4
Malaise of malaise
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Ah. The malaise of this story doesn’t even begin to unwind the tension that lies between my bones, each joint being held by tacky glue

Malaise of my neck, like a swan neck being snapped in two

Or three, three points of contact like a karate chop

Roll onto your lap, your face falls off in an explosion, escape, your eyes linger on my shoulders

Lower, lower

Lower

I had the malaise that lingered on the buds of my taste, sorrow in the tunnel that had led to my demise

I don’t have the strength

I don’t want to have any of this strength

It’s a stew burning so hot on the bottom of the pan

Black and blue and charred, like me

I swap out the white paint of the yellow cured grapes

For a swill that created my skin, burning

Like a twig in the desert

I paint my face with stuffed mushrooms, silky, smooth, soft and chuffed with layers

You can feel their tickle as you walk through the patches

I can’t even tell you how tired I am

I must go on for there are some who cannot walk from the agony

The pain of being, of stuffing without substance

Of submission without permission

Of malaise that layers upon malice

Malaise of malaise

I’m so happy I’m tired,

I’m alive.

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake17 days ago

    Well done.

  • My favourite part was painting the face with stuffed mushrooms! Your poem was so poignant and I loved it!

  • A prose of pain and being alive was well written by you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.