Poets logo

Trauma sparkle

Inspired by Everything, Everywhere, all at once (film)

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
6
Trauma sparkle
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

a politic

is a bag o’ tricks,

Taxes are the best bag of all

You win some you lose big I am

The Queen of tired

Fucking exhausted like a waterlogged rock

I’m a rocket, screaming into space

I’m

The A bomb racing into my heart

My tiny roof where I hide from the crazy people

Crazy like me

I wish somebody would tell me I’m not crazy

and sit me down.

Sit me down and quietly do nothing

I can’t stop

Even for a minute I am collapsed in a confused state of nuclear cold fusion

But now

I sunk into my trauma sparkle

Losing you, losing you

Was losing me

I cannot bear to be so bare with you

I’ll be an angry grizzly bear

Before then,

Crying spicy, soft and sweet tears

Water and salt

Definitely wet

My face is a waterfall

You are the waterfowl

Dipping into my brain

I’ll probably just have a rest

Life can’t move forward

I’ll link sparkle to my fragile nerves

And soothe my baby, my darling daughter

Hold her so tight I can’t breathe.

Family
6

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran19 days ago

    "My face is a waterfall You are the waterfowl Dipping into my brain" These lines were my favourite and I kept rereading them! Loved your poem!

  • Kendall Defoe 19 days ago

    I think you have summed up the film quite well here...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.