Fiction logo

Munson's Microfiction: My Tears Need A Minute

[Unofficial Challenge Closing 31 May 2024]

By Christy MunsonPublished 15 days ago Updated 3 days ago 3 min read
30
Watercolor by Christy Munson

A New Unofficial Challenge Has Arrived 🥳

I'm thrilled to announce my first unofficial challenge sponsorship via Vocal! As of yesterday, 2 May 2024, my Vocal catalogue proudly contains 150 pieces. For me, that's an unimaginable milestone. I've penned 118 pieces since 7 February 2024, and in large part other Vocal writers have encouraged and supported me into posting all sorts of writing, from poetry to horror to fae tales to confessions. The ride so far has been breathtaking!

This year I've participated in wonderful unofficial challenges sponsored by other Vocal writers. The prompts have been inspiring, fun, creative, and all around delightful, and have contributed to my productivity. Now's my turn to pay it forward with my first unofficial challenge offered to you, my lovelies!

May the best microfiction win!

~*~.~*~.~*~

THE PROMPT ❤️

Munson's Microfiction Challenge, should you choose to accept it, is to write a microfiction in which the following two lines are featured:

"My tears need a minute to find the edges of my face. If you'll please excuse me."

This unofficial challenge deserves a shout-out to the brilliant Lacy Loar-Gruenler, who wrote "The Girl Who Loved Them Both," which earned Runner-Up in Vocal's, Father's Footprint Challenge.

My visceral Comment to that story begins: "Okay, my tears need a minute to find the edges of my face. If you'll please excuse me."

Lacy kindly replied that these words deserved to be quoted in a story. I agree, and I sincerely hope you agree, too! ❤️

-----------------------------------------------

THE RULES

  1. No more than two microfiction entries per person will be considered. If you enter more than two, the first two I receive from you will be taken as your entries. The others I'll read, after the challenge closes.
  2. As with any challenge, participation is key. Will fellow Vocal writers rise to the challenge? Hope so! If fewer than eight entries in total are submitted, I respectfully reserve the right award First Place only.
  3. Your entry must be a microfiction. Poems will not be considered for this challenge. Sorry. I love poems too. Maybe for a future challenge? Let's see how this one goes.
  4. You must feature these two lines in your microfiction, exactly as written: "My tears need a minute to find the edges of my face. If you'll please excuse me." The two sentences may appear anywhere in your microfiction (e.g., first lines, last lines, anywhere in the middle), but you must use them as written. You may not switch the order of the sentences.
  5. Your microfiction must be between 500 and 800 words in length. The mandatory prompt's two sentences may, but do not have to, qualify toward your final word count.
  6. Link back to this announcement in an Author's Note in your entry.
  7. Stipulate Munson's Microfiction in your subtitle.
  8. Your entry must be newly posted to Vocal, as opposed to being pulled from content already in your Vocal collection.
  9. Entries must be posted in the Fiction community.
  10. You must provide a link to your entry in the Comments to this unofficial challenge announcement.
  11. Only entries that correctly follow these rules will be considered for a prize.

Entries will be accepted from the time this challenge is publicly posted via Vocal until 11:59 PM (US Eastern Time) on May 31, 2024. Winners of the challenge will be announced on, or before, June 14 2024.

-----------------------------------------------

THE PRIZES

Winners will be chosen by me, at my sole discretion. Prizes will be distributed on Vocal as Tips. Winners will be determined by content and quality. In order to be eligible to win and receive payment, you MUST have tipping enabled. The awards amounts will be provided as Tips as follows:

❤️ 1st Place: $30.00

❤️ 2nd Place: $20.00

❤️ 3rd Place: $10.00

❤️ Honorable Mention: $5.00

-----------------------------------------------

Once entries are submitted via Comments to this Unofficial Challenge Announcement, I'll post them to this thread. If you'd like be kept abreast of all the the entries, simply ❤️ this post and or "subscribe" to me (Christy Munson).

Questions or feedback? Let me know in Comments. Good luck!

- Christy

__________________________

My example microfiction for inspiration and a splash of adventure. Naturally, my entry (entries?) will not be eligible for the prizes. Hope you enjoy!

__________________________

THE ENTRIES...

John Cox — "The day I saw the light leave your eyes"

shrey - Cursed

Gerard DiLeo - Plainer in a Plane Lane

Andrea Corwin - Tears at the Cooling

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred - What's Cooking

Anna - I'm sorry

Microfiction
30

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: 🥳

MAY '24 | MAY '24 | APR '24 | APR '24 |

MAR '24 | MAR '24 | MAR '24 |

FEB '24 | JUN '21

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Belleabout 4 hours ago

    I'll have to bookmark this! Sounds like an amazing challenge!

  • angela hepworth2 days ago

    Ooh count me in!! Great idea Christy!

  • Paul Stewart3 days ago

    Just saw this...when I am home home from a break away I shall enter into this! :) Well done on 150 pieces too, Christy! You're definitely an asset to the Vocal Community!

  • Anna 3 days ago

    My take on this fun challenge. Thanks for hosting it!😊 https://vocal.media/fiction/i-m-sorry-niix0zmh

  • Thank you for including my effort, most appreciated

  • Shirley Belk3 days ago

    I LOVE how this all started!!!

  • Gerard DiLeo5 days ago

    Here's mine, Christy. Leave it to me to stray wild and weird. https://vocal.media/fiction/plainer-in-a-plane-land

  • Gerard DiLeo6 days ago

    Of course I'm all in, Christy!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 days ago

    I would love to participate! I am flat out at the minute, but I'm going to do my best to fit this in 😁

  • kp12 days ago

    ooo i'm in! fantastic lines and glowing, well-deserved feedback for lacy :)

  • shrey 13 days ago

    The line was really intense, There's a story in my imagination. so here it is : https://vocal.media/fiction/cursed-fk2ih00pn

  • Andy Potts14 days ago

    Following this idea closely. Got a busy month ahead, but hope I can piece something together for the challenge.

  • Caroline Craven14 days ago

    This is fab Christy. What a fab idea. I’ll have to get my thinking cap on. Good on you!

  • Gina C.14 days ago

    Love this! I will have to see if I can make a story out of this - that line is so wonderfully poetic to me 😍 It gave me instant poem vibes, but I will see what I can spin into prose :)

  • Rachel Deeming15 days ago

    Exciting new challenge. I would like to give this a go. Will have to plan my time somehow!

  • Not sure how to make this into horror but let's see if Mr Brain cooperates hahaha

  • Babs Iverson15 days ago

    Will give it a go!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    After I read John’s story, I wondered “what challenge” and then saw this story. Interesting info on how it came about. I will see if I can write something fitting.

  • John Cox15 days ago

    Turns out I had one story left in my imagination tank. https://vocal.media/fiction/the-day-i-saw-the-light-leave-your-eyes

  • Babs Iverson15 days ago

    Fantastic challenge!!! Love ir, Christy!!!💕❤️❤️

  • I will try, and a great Idea, gonna start a thread in VSS for Unofficial Challenges because I so often lose these

  • Heather Hubler15 days ago

    This is a wonderful idea!! I'll try to come up with something :)

  • Lamar Wiggins15 days ago

    Wow! 118 since February. That's impressive! Keep going!!! Interesting challenge, and thanks for giving us plenty of time. I'll give it a go!

  • John Cox15 days ago

    Great challenge concept, Christy! I’ll have to give it a think to see if I’ve got one more story in the basement! I was thinking of taking a break from writing to focus on my art. I have already written far more stories than I had planned to this year. All that’s left in my drafts now are the dregs.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.