Poets logo

Sensations in Decline

meanwhile at a cellular level

By Brenton FPublished 12 days ago Updated 12 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
26

Part I

i made my body

as numb as my mind

ensuring that absolutely nothing

would or will be felt

i made my mind

as empty as my soul

paradoxically, this is true

but it’s an anomalous void nonetheless

i made my soul

as i made my way in life

based upon blind faith in a hypothetical

wish fulfilment process

i made everything numb

so i wouldn’t have to feel

i turned everything off

so didn’t have to deal

Part II

i could smell the clean

as the many machines wound down

this is a detachment and an enrichment

of everything and nothing simultaneously

with a complicated simplicity

i shut down and discarded

all ties of empathic decency

and then i let the walls come down

Part III

i made everything numb

i made everything grey

i sucked every single colour

from the here, the now; today

i can’t feel my arms

i can’t feel my legs

no sorrow

no joy

my grasp is purely rudimentary

i reach to touch but not to feel

i bear the lack, the loss of lustre

the epitome of negated zeal

i can’t feel my brain

so i can’t feel the pain

no dark

no light

Part IV

this hack

…this time

this slack

…is fine

this lack

…is mine;

sensations

in decline

surreal poetry
26

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Gerard DiLeo8 days ago

    Well done.

  • Merrie Sanders10 days ago

    Excellent. Really well done.

  • Anna 10 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • Grz Colm11 days ago

    Congrats on your top story Brenton! ☺️🥳

  • Lamar Wiggins11 days ago

    ‘I reach to touch but not to feel’ Loved that line! Congrats, Brenton!

  • Kodah11 days ago

    Congrats on top story!! Well-deserved! 💓🥳🎉🥳🎉💓

  • BrettNotGreg11 days ago

    Absolutely love this. Very enthralling! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    Great work! I liked Part IV the best. Congratulations on TS👏🥳

  • Congratulations on another thought provoking journey to top story

  • Hannah Moore12 days ago

    Don't we all...at times.

  • Grz Colm12 days ago

    Part 3 was my favourite!! 😁👍 Always gets under the skin. Hope you are travelling well B!

  • Babs Iverson12 days ago

    Fabulously surreal!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.