Poets logo

An Artifice Addict's Attempt at Non-fiction

A double dizain on identity

By D.K. ShepardPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
12
An Artifice Addict's Attempt at Non-fiction
Photo by John Jason on Unsplash

Author's Note: This story was originally submitted for the Identity Challenge and is just being republished at this time for organizational aesthetic purposes.

I look down. I’m not sure why. Who am I?

I'm stumped. Used to be? Want to be? Should be?

Perhaps they’re some answers I can supply,

At least those are the mountains I can see,

Even if they seem distant and hazy.

As for the one I’m climbing, I can’t say.

I’m moving and I change, but in small ways,

Ones too hard to perceive just on their own.

Staring at my feet, stay the course or stray,

We’ve done our share of both, next is unknown.

*****

Grappling, I guess I have, right now in fact.

No wake-up moments or harsh one-eighties

To peer at clearer mirrors. Still intact

After falls, bruises: my identity.

But I do hate autobiographies,

For without the weight or wings of fiction,

I know the words won’t stick, can’t get traction.

Can you see them? Did they evaporate?

Can’t soar apart from imagination,

Just sinking as they over-saturate.

For Funfact or fiction
12

About the Creator

D.K. Shepard

Character Crafter, Witty Banter Enthusiast, World Builder, Unpublished novelist...for now

Fantasy is where I thrive, but I like to experiment with genres for my short stories. Currently employed as a teacher in Louisville.

dkshepard.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart8 days ago

    Oh bravo...this is so brilliant....love how many questions it raises and thoughts it provokes.

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Gabriel Huizenga11 days ago

    This is such an awesome, adventuresome reflection on identity. I think I'm grappling, wondering, and wandering alongside you on that particular adventure!

  • John Cox12 days ago

    This is an interesting, psychological puzzle of a poem, DK! Climbing to destinations yet defined or identified. It's all a bit dizzying. Is that the intent? Or are you simply looking for a thing that you will recognize when you find it?

  • I loved this!💙 Especially ‘Staring at my feet, stay the course or stray, We’ve done our share of both, next is unknown.’ Photo is a perfect fit too.✅

  • Hannah Moore12 days ago

    Love that about not being able to see the mountain you're on clearly either.

  • Rachel Deeming12 days ago

    This is interesting introspection. Are you saying that more of you can be found in fiction?

  • Oh this was so profound. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.