Longevity logo

Whispers in the Dark: My Enchanting Quest into the ASMR Wonderland

Unveiling the Soothing Sensations, Health Benefits, and Endless Creativity of ASMR

By Kim Joseph Published 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by: Karolina Grabowska on Pexels

Back in 2018, I had my first encounter with the mesmerizing whispers of ASMR. Although the memory of the initial YouTube video has slipped from my mind, the experience remains vivid. A young lady sat in her softly lit bedroom, setting a soothing ambiance with colorful hanging lights gently strobing in the background. The only source of sound was a microphone, serving as a calming mechanism for her followers to unwind for the next few hours.

At that time, ASMR was an enigma to me. Little did I know that ASMR stands for Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response, a term describing the tingling or goosebumps sensation triggered by specific auditory or visual stimuli.

As the lady with the microphone whispered sweet nothings, a delightful sensation of energy pulsated through the top of my head and down my arms. It was around 1 am, and I was struggling to sleep, which is what led me into the world of ASMR in the first place. Reports suggest that ASMR may aid in achieving deep, healthy sleep by promoting relaxation and theta brainwaves. Enthusiasts of ASMR often experience reduced anxiety, fewer headaches, lower blood pressure, and various other health benefits.

Personally, I have observed that when I watch (or just listen to) ASMR before sleep, my rest becomes more peaceful, and I am less likely to experience nightmares or wake up in the middle of the night. Especially effective for me are the ASMR videos that include positive affirmations, which contribute to the release of oxytocin in the brain, creating the perfect recipe for sweet dreams.

I quickly found myself falling down the tingly rabbit hole, as tends to happen when I discover a remedy that genuinely works. The vast world of ASMR content offers a wealth of information for those who know what they're looking for.

YouTube, in particular, is filled with ASMRtists using various triggers to invoke those tingly feelings. Some common triggers include whispering, tapping, gentle light, roleplay, and even eating. These techniques are dedicated to helping others reduce anxiety and stress and lulling them to sleep. At first, it may seem peculiar, but the allure of ASMR extends beyond its health benefits. Each ASMRtist brings a unique style to their videos, and I applaud them for their dedication. They often livestream and record content for hours to cater to their devoted followers. I once stumbled upon an ASMR livestream that lasted a staggering six hours! While I couldn't stay awake for the entire duration, the ASMRtists' commitment is truly commendable. Their work involves not only being creative enough to stand out among thousands of others (approximately 500,000 ASMRtists on YouTube, to be precise) but also providing the right triggers and maintaining an entertaining and energetic demeanor, all while ensuring they don't fall asleep themselves since their priority is to help others.

Currently, my favorite ASMRtist is SunshineJazzy ASMR. I came across her TikTok during a period of anxiety, and her triggers and colorful personality provided a safe space for my restless nights. Her attention to detail in each and every livestream is truly impressive. You can see for yourself. ASMR became a career for her, helping her overcome some of her struggles with mental health. In some of her livestreams, she also shares how her relationship with God played a significant role in her journey of healing, something I can deeply relate to. If you haven't yet experienced the euphoric journey of ASMR, I highly recommend giving it a try, preferably with headphones for the best audio quality and immersive experience.

psychologywellnessself caremental healthlifestylehealthart
Like

About the Creator

Kim Joseph

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.