Humor logo

Seincraft

A show about the vast nothing that lurks within the soul of ev’ry man

By Madoka MoriPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 4 min read
Runner-Up in Pitch Your Pilot Challenge
34

FADE IN / BASS GUITAR RIFF

INT. JERRY'S APARTMENT - DAY

George is pacing back and forth, his face etched with concern. Jerry sits at the table with a mug of coffee.

GEORGE [anxiously]

There’s something up with Elaine’s new boyfriend, Jerry. He has… a look.

JERRY

A look?

GEORGE

A look, Jerry! An unwholesome look.

JERRY [raising an eyebrow]

George, what are you talking about?

GEORGE

You don’t think he has a look? The wide mouth, the squamous skin.

He sits down next to Jerry, gesturing.

GEORGE

Those bulging eyes of his. He doesn’t blink, Jerry!

JERRY

So you don’t like him because he beat you in a staring contest?

GEORGE [whispering]

I saw him, Jerry! I saw him devouring plate after plate of sushi like there was no tomorrow. It's unnatural!

JERRY

George, if eating sushi makes a person unnatural then the entire nation of Japan is some kind of eldritch nightmare.

GEORGE [shrugs]

You said it, not me. The Japanese are deeefinitely up to something.

ELAINE enters and pours herself a cup of coffee.

ELAINE

Guys, I’m in trouble.

GEORGE [smug]

Ha! See?

ELAINE

Huh?

JERRY

Don’t mind George. He just thinks your new boyfriend is a bit… fishy.

GEORGE

And you don’t?!

JERRY

As a matter of fact, I think he’s quite the catch.

ELAINE

Who, Zadok? Well that’s my problem, actually.

GEORGE [triumphantly]

See! What did I tell you, Jerry?

ELAINE [to Jerry]

What did he tell you?

JERRY

George thinks Zadok is squamous.

ELAINE

Squamous?

GEORGE [yelling]

Squamous!

Elaine rolls her eyes and tries to move on with the conversation.

ELAINE

Anyway, it’s Zadok’s birthday party tomorrow night, and he’s invited me.

JERRY

So what?

ELAINE

We’ve only been dating for a week! All his friends will be there. Maybe even his family! What am I going to do? It's too early for me to meet his parents. I don’t even know what to get him for a gift.

GEORGE

His parents, huh? Do they have the same… look?

JERRY

Again with the look!

ELAINE

What look?

GEORGE

Don’t you think your new boyfriend has a look? The eyes, the mouth-

JERRY [sarcastically]

The squamous skin…

GEORGE

His skin is squamous!

ELAINE

What are you trying to say, George?

JERRY

Yeah, what are you trying to say, George?

GEORGE [uncomfortable]

I'm just saying he has a look about him. And he smells like the ocean. All the time, like the ocean.

Elaine, shocked, looks to Jerry for support. Jerry makes an “eh” gesture; Zadok does, apparently, smell like the ocean.

ELAINE

He’s from a coastal town!

GEORGE

Elaine, we live in New York. We’re all coastal. I don’t smell like the ocean.

In the background Jerry makes an “eh” gesture.

ELAINE

He’s from New England. That’s what people in New England are like.

JERRY

You are what you eat, huh?

KRAMER bursts in through the front door. He is holding a large, leather-bound tome.

KRAMER

Hey.

JERRY

Hey.

KRAMER

Got any candles, Jerry?

JERRY

Candles? What do you— you know what, never mind. Let me check.

Jerry begins rummaging in the kitchen cabinets for candles.

KRAMER

Red ones.

Jerry shoots him an exasperated stare and goes back to searching the cabinets. He re-emerges with a packet of candles.

JERRY

Here you go. Birthday candles.

KRAMER

Oh, no, no. These are no good.

JERRY

Well, they’re all I’ve got. Some of them are red, see?

KRAMER

No, no, these won’t do, Jerry.

JERRY

What do you need candles for, anyway? Did you short out your apartment’s electricity again?

KRAMER

Not at all. Well, yeah, I did, but that’s not what these are for.

He displays the book proudly.

KRAMER

Check it out. Got it from my book guy for a song.

JERRY

Your book guy?

KRAMER

You don’t have a book guy?

JERRY

I mean, I go to the bookstore. There are definitely guys there. Do they count?

KRAMER

Oh, no, that won’t do, Jerry! You gotta have a book guy. I’ll introduce you to mine.

He leans in close.

KRAMER [conspiratorially]

He’s got the good stuff.

Kramer taps the side of his nose.

JERRY

So what did your book guy get you?

KRAMER

The Book of Eibon. Original binding. Check out the leather.

JERRY

Is that human skin?!

KRAMER [proudly]

Oh, you betcha.

JERRY

But what’s it about? And why the candles?

KRAMER

Knowledge, Jerry! With this book I can unlock the mysteries that have plagued mankind since time immemorial. No secrets are beyond my grasp with this puppy.

ELAINE [intrigued]

Wait, all knowledge? Like, say… what I should get Zadok for his birthday?

KRAMER [effusive]

Sure!

[confused]

Who’s Zadok?

JERRY

Elaine’s new boyfriend. You met him two days ago, remember?

KRAMER

Oh yeah! The squamous guy.

GEORGE

I knew it!

ELAINE [pleading]

C’mon, Kramer, help a girl out.

KRAMER

Well, alright. Shouldn’t be too hard for ol’ Eibon here. Let’s see…

Kramer flips through the book before settling on a page. He adopts a ridiculous, wide-legged stance and begins reciting.

KRAMER

ይህ ማለት ምንም ማለት አይደለም ጥሩ ይመስላል

The apartment noticeably darkens, shadows lengthening and stretching unnaturally.

KRAMER

በጥሬው ምንም ትርጉም የለም

The angles of the room seem wrong somehow. The temperature plummets, causing everyone's breath to steam hugely in the now-frigid air.

JERRY

Uh, Kramer…

KRAMER

ይህ ቋንቋ አማርኛ ነው እንደ ገሃነም ድንቅ ይመስላል

Kramer reaches out and places the tip of one finger in the centre of Elaine’s forehead.

KRAMER

ቀደም ብዬ ሱሺን ጠቅሻለሁ እና አሁን በጣም እፈልጋለሁ። ሱሺ! ሱሺ! እኔ!

Elaine’s eyes roll back into her head, exposing the whites. Her mouth yawns open, a terrible, gaping ‘o’ that stretches impossibly wide. She falls to the floor, spasming. Kramer closes the book with a snap.

JERRY

Kramer! Look what you’ve done to her!

KRAMER

That’s what pure knowledge looks like, Jerry. Some things are not for mankind to know.

JERRY

She looks like one of those Japanese horror-movie ghosts!

GEORGE

What did I tell you, Jerry. It’s all the sushi. Unnatural. Verrry unnatural.

JERRY

Huh. Maybe the Japanese are up to something.

FADE OUT / BASS GUITAR RIFF

Parody
34

About the Creator

Madoka Mori

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen A. Roddewig10 months ago

    I’m happy it placed, but this one is still 1st Place in my book

  • Stephanie Downard10 months ago

    Congratulations! 🥳🎉 Im so glad this placed! 😃 You did such an awesome job!

  • Stephen A. Roddewig12 months ago

    Returned to the thread to say: 1) I liked "Seincraft" so much I've come back to reread this on more than one occasion, and it still makes me chuckle every time. I've also been telling friends about it, including those who don't know what the hell Vocal even is. 2) I also shouted this piece out in last week's Raise Your Voice Thread (https://vocal.media/resources/raise-your-voice-thread-6-15-23) 3) I liked the style of this treatment so much that I borrowed the format for my own entry to the Pilot Pitch challenge: https://vocal.media/humor/dick-winchester-in-dick-winchester-episode-1-gratuity-not-included (But, to be clear, that's all I borrowed. The content and characters are all my own.)

  • Mack Devlin12 months ago

    Are you pitching a resurrection of Seinfeld? You really captured the essence. The dialogue reads like echoes. I can hear the actors delivering the lines.

  • This was a really Good Article Thank you for sharing❤️💯❗

  • Stephanie Downard12 months ago

    Oh, I loved this. You captured the essence of Seinfeld perfectly! I felt like I was watching an episode. Absolutely Excellent!! ❤️❤️

  • Paul Martyn12 months ago

    I need to see this episode.

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!! This was fantastic! Seinfeld was one of my very favorite shows, and you did it justice :)

  • Aphotic12 months ago

    This is so funny. I felt like I was watching an actual episode of the show. Very well done! Also, glad to see you posting again!

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    I literally saw Seinfeld playing in my mind as I read this 😅 This was brilliant! You captured each of their essences divinely. Amazing work! 🤗

  • Thoroughly entertaining, capturing the essence of the show & each of its character. Still don't think much of Jerry. The rest of the cast is great.

  • Stephen A. Roddewig12 months ago

    "Y'ha-nthlei? Oh, no, I haven't been, but I hear great things. You know my friend, Bob Sacamano? He visited once. They almost didn't let him leave."

  • A. Lenae12 months ago

    Holy moly, you deserve an award for this! Bravo, bravo! Crafting something based on a beloved show but making it original (while also forcing me, a civilian, to read it all in the beloved characters' respective voices) is such a feat. Hope you're so proud of this!

  • Ashley Ball12 months ago

    This was phenomenal! This should be an actual episode of Seinfeld. What an absolute comical delight! And you the characters such justice! I love Kramer so much! By the way, I noticed a small grammar mistake, and wanted to let you know so you can edit. “…causing the everyone's breath to steam…” I look forward to reading more of your works! This was wonderful!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Humorous and entertaining, loved it!!! Congratulations on T S too💕❤️❤️

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh12 months ago

    You literally made me laugh out loud. You really captured their voice but with your own unique twist. Squamous is my new word for the day!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    The book guy comment is too perfect 🤣🤣

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    Congratulations on top story

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    Amazing fanfiction it’s hilarious with a pinch of dark humor and I love that 😂😅😅😅🤣🤣🥲🥲🥲

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    I LOVE this!!! 😂 ohh I love Jerry and George & Elaine and you got all their personalities so perfectly 🥰🥰😘😘🥰😍😍😍

  • Congratulations on your top story , excellent challenge entry

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    Ahhhh - nice to see your work here - I have read and am smiling away. This is uniquely you - funny as - and all the jokes travel really well. Have to mention being first off the mark for this challenge takes some hutzpah too. Leading the way Madoka! Nicely done.

  • Kendall Defoe 12 months ago

    Okay, you win... 🏅 Laughed so hard I almost woke up...! :)

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    🤣. Hilarious! I enjoyed your show! 🥇

  • J. R. Lowe12 months ago

    First of all - WELCOME BACK!🎉Second, this was such a fun piece - you can really 'see' the characters when you read it. Very witty and exciting, and I love the supernatural twist. Third - thank you for posting this, I had absolutely no idea how to even begin writing something for this challenge so this is a great example😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.