Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Where is Alice Jay Jennings? - Part 3

Fiction - Crime - Short Chapters

By Marysol RamosPublished 5 months ago Updated 4 months ago 4 min read
2
Picture by Ideogram

Where is Alice Jay Jennings? PART 3

“Brandon Heights, the young man who identified The Poetic Killer to be at The Blue Tables Café, has been located after going missing for more than a month. He was found alive and unharmed by a couple who have their morning walks at Lakeview Forest….”

“I can’t believe I’m on the news.” Brandon said to himself while resting on a hospital bed.

“I can’t believe that you’re not dead.” Said a man sitting on a chair near the bed.

“Bet you wish I was, dad.” Brandon responded.

“Oh, don’t give me that, Brandon. You were held hostage by a serial killer and I’m shocked that you’re still alive — and unharmed for that matter. I don’t understand why you won’t tell me what happened.” The man said as he slammed the magazine he was reading on the side table.

“I already told you. I’m tired, my mind is foggy, and I’m going to tell the police everything as soon as they get here. You’ll hear it all then —” Brandon said as he turned away from his dad, then continued, “besides, you’re just being nosey. You don’t care about what happened to me. You’ve hurt me worse than anyone else has.”

“I told you already, son. I don’t mean to do it. I always apologize.” The dad said while rolling his eyes.

“Yet, you never stop drinking or make any…” Brandon stopped himself from finishing the sentence as he noticed Police Officers walking into the hospital room.

“Hello, Brandon Heights?” The first officer asked as he walked to Brandon to shake his hand.

“Yes, that’s me. And this over here,” Brandon said as he lazily pointed toward his dad, “is my father. James Heights.” The officer shook the dads hand and placed his attention back on Brandon.

“I’m officer Moore and this is my partner Officer Chan. She’s going to be taking a few notes while I ask you some questions, if that’s okay with you?” He asked.

“Yeah, yeah. My brain is a bit foggy, but I’ll do what I can.” Brandon answered.

“Can you tell us what happened?” Officer Moore asked.

“Not completely sure. I remember walking home from the Blue Tables Café on the night she, Alice, took me.”

“Around what time did this occur?” The officer asked.

“I’d say around eight thirty at night. Not completely sure.”

“What happened next?”

“Well, I remember hearing movement in the bushes about 1 block down from the café. I was heading toward Gerald St. My house is a few blocks down.

“Anyway, the next thing I remember is waking up in a garage type of room. It was dark, with minimal lighting. I was tied up with chains and I couldn’t move. It felt as if I were drugged.”

“Tests are being done.” The dad jumped in to say.

“Thanks.” Officer Moore said, then giving his attention back to Brandon.

“You we’re held hostage for over a month. 1 month and 3 days to be exact. What do you remember?”

“Well, after I woke up — it seemed that hours had passed by until Alice arrived. I don’t know where she was. She left me alone a lot. I tried to escape multiple times, but there was no getting out of those chains.” Brandon said as he showed the officers the marks on his wrist, arms, and hands.

“Do you remember anything else besides the room looking like a garage? Anything that could help us narrow down the location of which she hides?”

“Not really. My brain feels pretty foggy. Like I said, it was a garage type. No windows. There were a few wooden tables, the chains were held by cement walls. The ground was also concrete. There weren’t any stairs. Just a door to the side of the room.”

“Why didn’t she kill or harm you?”

“I’m not a writer. She only wanted to scare me for notifying her whereabouts. I guess to teach others a lesson. She said I’d be the only one she’d let go and that the next person won’t be so lucky.”

“What happened while you were there?”

“She questioned me, mostly. Asking me what I knew about her case. She wanted to know if there were any leads or any information she wasn’t receiving from the news. She was watching it on a phone. I saw a computer also. It was the same computer I saw when I saw her at The Blue Tables Café. Maybe you guys can trace the internet or something. I don’t know. I’m sorry I can’t be of much help.”

“You did your best, son. Don’t beat yourself up over it.” Officer Chan responded.

“If anything else comes to mind. Please give me a call at this number. If I don’t answer, leave a voicemail and I’ll call back as soon as I can. Officer Chan will be asking you a few more questions about your experience and how you were found, if that’s okay?” Officer Moore asked.

“Yeah, yes of course.” Brandon answered.

After a bit of time, which felt like an eternity, Brandon was alone in the hospital room. He felt anxious, nervous, and a bit worried. He pulled his cell phone out, sent a text message, deleted it, and put his phone away.

Little did anyone know, down the road of the hospital, in an attack of an abandoned house — I, Alice Jay Jennings, waited by my phone. As soon as I heard the tone, I opened up the message and read:

“I told them what you told me to say. They bought every word of it. - Brandon”

I then put my phone away and looked into the eyes of my next victim.

“It’s getting easier and easier.” I said as I laughed hysterically in the face of Jessica Lynn Barnes.

Part 4

Young AdultthrillerShort StoryPsychologicalMysteryHorrorCONTENT WARNINGAdventure
2

About the Creator

Marysol Ramos

From Soul Soothing to Mysteries and Thrills. Take a few journeys with me through short stories that will either liven your soul or consume it with curiosity. Either way your mind takes a ride and your emotions are brought to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Fantastic writing. Such a captivating story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.