Fiction logo

Spunky's First Snow

Because JBaz said I should.

By Dana CrandellPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
32
Spunky's First Snow
Photo by James Lee on Unsplash

Spunky peeked out of her brightly painted little barn in the green countryside, in wonder and fascination. Gingerly, she extended her soft, pink nose to sniff the fluffy, white blanket that had covered everything during the night. Her little nostrils filled with the cold, wet stuff and she sneezed, shaking her head and kicking up her heels. “Whatever could this be?” she said, aloud.

A familiar voice answered, “It's SNOW, Spunky! Isn't it wonderful?"

Spunky craned her furry neck and saw her good friend, Archy, sliding down a little hill toward her home. Her little unicorn heart leapt with glee to see that her favorite rainbow had come for a visit on this chilly, but sunny (as always) morning.

“Oh, thank you, Archy! Yes, I suppose it is very nice, but it seems quite cold in my nose!”

Bounding out into the now-white pasture, she trotted over to where her friend beamed invitingly. “It is ever so nice to see you this morning, and look! I can see all of your colors reflected in the – s-now!”

“Come on and let's have a little fun, Spunky! Bet you can't catch me!”

Archy and Spunky romped together happily, frolicking without a care in their bright, peaceful valley while the sun smiled joyfully down on them. Spunky had decided she loved the snow and couldn't wait to enjoy it with the rest of her and Archy's friends! What a lovely day!

That's when the meteor hit.

MicrofictionFantasyFable
32

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Ok, I might as well post it here, joining the pretty rainbow stories. https://vocal.media/fiction/uni-rainbow

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    Bahaha 😹 I am not sure what it is going on lately. There’s a lot of weirdness in these parts. I’m not abreast on all challenges. Fun work Dana!! 😊👍

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    hahahahahahaha. I honestly was caught up in the whimsy of all this...so when the meteor hit...it was a genuine shock. lol. Loved it! Loved your descriptions and that super dark ending to a little perfect snow scene haha!Congrats on a fine Top Story, sir!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    Dana I love this, also think this is such a wonderful "challenge"! Congrats on Top Story!

  • I wanted so bad to participate in the fun...here is my shortcut. Sing it loud, sing it proud https://vocal.media/poets/unicorns-gone-bad

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    This was adorable, and much needed after the wringing out my latest is giving me! And then that last line 😂

  • Melissa Ingoldsby3 months ago

    Ohhh 😮 no poor unicorn ! This was so sweet and a gut punch at the end! 😢🫢👏

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Look at you, See, writing a nice little happy piece with Unicorns , Rainbows and a meteor pays off. Congratulations

  • Bahahaha, that is what perfect timing feels like. Congrats on your top story

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    Hey hey hey! Congrats on getting Top Story, Dana! Well deserved!

  • Everyone please be sure to read Jason's response to this, and take him up on the invitation: https://vocal.media/fiction/unicorn-and-the-village

  • Thavien Yliaster3 months ago

    That ending had me like "WTF!" I really gotta know what Archy is being a rainbow friend. I have to ask, if Archy is a rainbow friend, and if Spunky is one of those types of unicorns that can run on rainbows, could Spunky and Archy have escaped the asteroid by running up the length of a rainbow?

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    You guys are terrible. I am conjuring up a meteor for you all next. This is such fun, met it on Hannah's. JBaz and now here. Yep, I am def joining in this one.

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    Hahahahaha I don't know why, but happy go lucky things getting hit by sudden and inescapable tragedy always tickles my funny bone. Maybe I'm just jaded. This was a super fun one!

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    I was thinking a landslide was going to wipe them out...apparently I can't think of happy endings anymore either..hahaha! This was so great. I pictured a whole 'my little pony' scene going on until that last line!! Always love your humor, love sissy

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Daft daft daft.

  • Test3 months ago

    It was all going so well! 😁 I was just getting into the rainbow rhythm. Brilliant!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    That was going great......and then. lol. Well done, my friend.

  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    Excellent creation, Dana 😊Took me back to My Little pony and Care Bear days.

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Dana, I didn't see it coming....was thinking of a puppy when they see their first snow. Did you mean painted? "brightly pained little barn"

  • Omgggg I giggled soooo gleefully at that ending! You made my day with this one! Thank you so much Dana for all the joy you bring me!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.