Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Promising career

Telltale crimson trail: part 10

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
14
Image: Wikimedia Commons, edited

When I heard the door-bell ring, I tucked the Sig Sauer I had been cleaning, away under the coffee table. I let Stevie in and she sat across from me, a tense look on her face.

Read Crimson Trail from the beginning

"What are you doing here, Stevie? You know you are not supposed to get involved.”

"I need to ask where you went between leaving the Woodland parking lot and arriving home."

I guessed the game was up and said nothing.

"You recall the name of the deceased?”

"No!"

"Really? You handed me his ID remember?"

Silence

"William McCafferty, wasn't it?"

More silence

"When I saw you looking at your brother's photo, I remembered where I knew the name from. Where did you really go after you left the Woodland parking lot?"

Again, silence.

"You were seen at the hospital, John... What was in the package you placed in the medical waste dumpster for incineration?"

"I miss them so much, Stevie." I said. I could feel tears welling up that I tried not to show.

"John Teagan, I am arresting you for murder..."

As she stood and gave me the routine, reaching for her cuffs, I leant forward and grabbed the Sig, slowly raising the weapon. She didn't miss a beat.

"I can't do it, Stevie, I can't spend the rest of my life inside.”

She just stood there as I heard two cars pull up, doors slamming.

Raising the weapon, I fired two rounds, ending forever what could have been a promising police career.

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

Read: The Final Act

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

PsychologicalMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
14

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham3 months ago

    This is still quite the drama with all the events.

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    OOOHHH WHAT NOW?! Dude I should have seen the medical waste incinerator coming, that's a stroke of genius. And I love how you brought it up in THIS episode! UGH so good!! Now, who did he shoot? I feel like he did shoot Stevie. Maybe not fatally, though. "Ending" a career could mean paralysis, right? ;)

  • Please tell me he shot Stevie and not himself. I want Stevie dead, not him 😭😭😭😭😭

  • No!!!!!! This is supposed to go one & become an epic thriller. We can't have the final act coming up!

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Omg! Did he shoot Stevie? Himself? Or both? On the edge of my seat, here!

  • Kageno Hoshino3 months ago

    Wow, part 10 came out faster than I thought and it is good

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.