Writers logo

Writers Appreciation: A Love Letter

A Shoutout to Some Creators on Vocal (May 2024)

By BellePublished 11 days ago Updated 11 days ago 4 min read
Top Story - May 2024
36

Here are some amazing creators I have noticed on Vocal Media this past month, and wanted to quickly shout out! I think writers need some more appreciation, and I think this will be a fun way to do it! (Maybe it'll become a recurring thing, who can say!) But anyway, I wanted to write some little love letters to some amazing people, so here we go!

L.C. Schäfer

L.C. was the first creator I subscribed to with the intent to note and read any work she pumped out. L.C. honestly intimated me as a writer, and I thought of her as a "Vocal celebrity" rather than just an ordinary creator. She is very inspiring as an amazing, alluring writer with a great audience. I love how much community seems to come out of her writing, with so many creators and readers consistently following the work she posts.

L.C. is doing a daily microfiction challenge, in which she writes a story every day in 2024. 366 stories (since it's leap year), 366 words each. She is currently on story 131 of 366! She also writes prompts for those who are tagging along in the challenge with her! You can see the original post for the challenge here.

One of the first things that captured me from L.C. was her bio: "Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes." Instantly fell in love with this author and dove right in to her work, and she DOES NOT disappoint.

L.C. currently has many achievements on Vocal, including First Place in the 2023 Vocal Awards - Fantasy Fiction (UM HOLY CRAP), with her story "Meat, Walking"!

With 316 stories, L.C. pumps out work like magic, and is consistently on the Top Story board!

Another great thing about L.C.... she tries to reciprocate as many comments as possible, and I found that astounding. I read one of her works just earlier today, and smiled bright when I saw a comment from her in my notifications... "L.C. SCHÄFER READ MY WORK???"

Thank you, L.C., for being such a lovely writer and leaving such a positive and inspiring impact!

Paul Stewart

One of the first to really take note of my work, with consistent comments. Something I love is that Paul has been a very supportive commenter, and one of the first people to really notice me. Paul and L.C. seem to have a friendly ongoing creatorship too, and I love seeing that! One of the first representations I've seen of ongoing friendship on this platform!

Paul has 718 stories, which to me is absolutely amazing. I love seeing creators who can write like there is no tomorrow!

The first comment Paul left for me on Vocal included this little tidbit... "I kinda thought I was subscribed to you already. Fixed that now." And I haven't forgotten it since. Tiny little comments like these go a long way, especially for new or beginner writers, as I really didn't think I was anything to write home about, or subscribe to. So Paul, thank you!

Rachel Deeming

Rachel was the first to enter my first unofficial challenge, and she entered it the same day I published it (with a few entries, in fact)! She was very enthusiastic about the prompt, and it absolutely made my day!

Rachel is another consistent writer, with 375 stories, AND she is also participating in the daily microfiction challenge with L.C. Schäfer!

Thank you, Rachel, for being such a positive and kind presence on Vocal, and an amazing writer!

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

A lovely writer with an AMAZING amount of top stories! Holy! I was appalled. Every story on the first page of her profile is a TOP STORY. Insane!

She is best known for her horror stories, as she's said in her bio that she has embraced her own darkness, and I absolutely love what she's done with it. Incredible!

She has interacted consistently with my stories and unofficial challenges, and I absolutely love it! Thank you, Dharrsheena, for being so openly, creatively, and brilliantly twisted!

Mark Gagnon

Mark Gagnon has actively liked and commented on my work and has shown interest in my unofficial challenges. I cannot stress how much I appreciate the consistent support, and how lovely creators/readers like Mark really are!

Mark is a consistent writer on Vocal, with 296 stories, posting every few days, and also has a couple of books on Amazon!

Thank you, Mark, for your kind comments and your entries!

ALSO, an FYI

Just because I gotta plug my own stuff... I currently have two ongoing unofficial challenges if you would like to check them out! You can find a list of all of my open challenges (as well as the closed ones - when they close) here!

That's really all I wanted to say! Y'all are just great and I wanna make sure you get the attention and praise you deserve! Thank you all!

ALSO (Update): I see all of these creators in each other's comment sections, and I absolutely adore that! The community here is so incredible, loving, welcoming, and passionate. Thank you all for not only interacting with my work, but actively interacting with each other's, too!

ShoutoutVocalInspirationCommunityAchievements
36

About the Creator

Belle

I host unofficial challenges and enjoy writing microfiction and poetry.

My current open challenges can be found here.

ALL EYES ON RAFAH. 35k+ murdered in Palestine. 70k+ injured. 25k orphaned. ~10k missing/under rubble.

Top Story Count: 5

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 7 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji9 days ago

    congrats on ts-Dhar is really good at supporting creators and yes great list

  • In an arm wrestle, two opponents face off, their muscles tense with anticipation. Gripping the table's edge, they lock hands, eyes fixed on each other with fierce determination. The room fills with tension as the battle commences, each participant unleashing their strength in a bid for supremacy. Veins bulge, and sweat glistens as the struggle intensifies, the table trembling beneath their exertions. It's a primal contest of power and will, each moment fraught with anticipation. Cheers and encouragement erupt from onlookers as the competitors push against each other, their arms locked in a test of raw strength and unwavering resolve. http://thearmwrestle.com

  • Christy Munson9 days ago

    Your story just made my day. Not only do I read all the wonderful, prolific, inspiring writers you've mentioned, but I second the points you've made about them. I, too, truly appreciate how supportive the Vocal writer community. Good on you for putting into words how impactful it is to have your work read and supported by peers, and by writers we admire and aspire to be. Congratulations on Top Story! 🥳👏🏻👍🏼🤩🏅

  • L.C. Schäfer9 days ago

    Thank you for the shout out! I don't feel like a celebrity at all! Definitely not like Cathy or Dharrsheena. Writing is so personal to me, so this is my way of getting comfy with getting naked in front of people. I still don't share most of it with people who actually know me, though 😏

  • Paul Stewart9 days ago

    Well now...this got lost in the notifications mix and I saw your comment mentioning it. Sorry it took me so long to get to this. I am humbled. And I don't mean that in that throwaway go-to kinda way people do - you know the kinda people I mean...pricks. lol. I mean...many who know me, would say I'm a prick too. Anyway, I feel I'm getting off message here lol. Thank you Belle, I appreciae your comments and have enjoyed the piece I have read by you thus far, know I might be behind on some. I appreciate also that you've put me in a crowd of just great writers and supportive folk. So thank you again. And well done on all you've done recently with your writing and doing your own bit to encourage people to write and get creative - I am still planning on entering both challenges...because they are great ideas! Congrats on this getting Top Story and thank you again.

  • Hannah Moore9 days ago

    Brilliant choices Belle!

  • Manisha Dhalani9 days ago

    Thank you for sharing your favourites! And congrats on this being a top story - the love you shared definitely deserved a spotlight :)

  • Rachel Deeming10 days ago

    Ah, Belle, thank you! I am in good company here. Love your stuff too!

  • Caroline Craven10 days ago

    You picked all my favourites! Great choice and loved your work too. Nice.

  • Amanda Starks10 days ago

    Yes!! Spread the love!! I know/am subscribed to all but one! Looks like I will have to update my roster! c:

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Margaret Brennan10 days ago

    I really enjoy when others point out a special author. I often find myself without enough time to read everyone, so if someone is "highlighted", it helps me find that special someone to read. Thank you.

  • Belle (Author)10 days ago

    Guys we made this a top story 🥺🥺🥺 Thank you all so much!

  • Ameer Bibi10 days ago

    It makes my heart happy to see writers showing their gratitude. I highly appreciate this support and recognition of each other's skills. It is just awesome. I am glad that I am also a part of this community.

  • Mark Gagnon10 days ago

    Stunned and honored to have made your list of very talented authors. It's always a great feeling to know my work is noticed and appreciated. A heart felt thank you!

  • Awww Belle, if honey is the sweetest thing, then you're billion times sweeter than that! 🥺❤️ Thank you so much for this shoutout! I appreciate it so much from the bottom of my heart! 🥰🥰🥰

  • This is great!!! I love reading stuff like this!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.