Writers logo

Create Your Personal Vocal Homepage

Who Knew!?

By Judey Kalchik Published 15 days ago Updated 15 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2024
42
https://pixabay.com/users/tumisu-148124/

I'm not a Vocal Newbie (not that there's anything wrong with that), and I'm technologically comfortable.

But, I'm also perhaps too comfortable. I think I know, even if I know that I don't know what I don't know, I still think I know more that I do know.

You know?

Anywho- today I learned something about Vocal that I didn't know. It's been staring at me for quite a while.

It's OK if I'm the only one that didn't know this (but what are the odds of that?) I figured I'd share this with everyone, and then you can tell me in the comments if you already knew it or not.

First Things First

I write for both Medium and Vocal. One of the things I like about dropping in to Medium (not often enough, I know, I know!) to do some reading (I'm a Medium Plus VIP Whatever member, and my reads will add more money to the writer's earnings because of that, so I try to read some each day)... where was I? Oh yes.

One of the things I like about Medium is that there is a personalized homepage for the user, made up of their interests, the topics and the people they follow. It increases the chances that I'll find something in which I am interested and read it.

I've often wished I could do it on Vocal. too.

For Vocal, however, the homepage is chopped into fifths with Top Stories, Challenges, the inevitable algorithm-heavy 'Creators We're Loving' with its every rotating faces, and Resources and Communities highlights.

Just snapped the current batch and I see some familiar faces!

So- good stuff there, but aside from, anecdotally, people seeing different Creators We're Loving faces depending on their geographical location (suggested, but never verified), pretty much the same for everyone. If you want to see new things you click on the Latest Stories invisible button at the top of the page.

see? Latest Stories

What if it could be better? What if I didn't need Notifications to endlessly scroll to see if JBaz, Dana, Mike, Randy, Poppy, Celia, MoCo (Mother Combs) have written something new?

Here's What I Didn't Know

Sure, I've been Subscribing to folk since that became an option. People to which I subscribe show up in my Notifications, and boy! do I get notifications! You do, too, right?

You can reach your Subscriptions by clicking on your own icon at the top right of the screen, and then on Your Subscriptions.

see?

I'm getting there!

But that's really all I'd done. Asked myself sometimes "Didn't I subscribe to them?" or "What's Jason's writing name", or "Why the heck can't I search for someone...?", and then I check Your Subscriptions.

But there's more to it.

The magic happens AFTER you click on Your Subscriptions.

author's screenshot

The Your Subscriptions page automatically opens up to a thumbnailed list of the Vocal Creator writers to which you've subscribed.

And, right next to Creators is Your Feed. KABOOM! Mind blown.

It's a chronological homepage just for you. From the most recent all the way to the Garden (note: mine is currently 2550 pages long), here's all of the work from all of the people to which you subscribe.

No more slogging through the latest regurgitated travelogs lifted from brochures, invitations to buy whatever plant material is guaranteed to solve your ills, AI generated 'spooky' stories of Midnight Manor or villages nestled between two valleys! Nope- just the stories of people that you want to keep up with, and content that you are likely to enjoy.

But... Latest Stories are Bad?

Oh no, no they aren't. I suggest that thumbing through a few pages of Latest Stories will be good for you, including but not limited to:

  • find new creators
  • stay on top of trends
  • find unofficial challenges
  • look for your own work being plagiarized (too soon?)

So Much Available to us

Subscribing to creator writers (like me! you can subscribe to me today!0 is free. It also builds Your Feed and creates a personalized Homepage for you on Vocal.

Latest Stories are interesting to cruise through, Top Stories are generally informative and interesting (and interacting there is really appreciated and keeps you plugged into people contributing to the Vocal Community), the Challenges can sharpen your writing chops, and the Resources show you a snippet of what's available to you (for more, go here)

And Creators We're Loving? Heck, I love them, too. (But maybe someday it will be filled with something more useful?)

~

please Subscribe to me (FREE!), and let me know if you already knew about your personalized Vocal Homepage!

ResourcesVocalCommunity
42

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Teresa Renton8 days ago

    Thank you for your insights Judy. I mainly just jump to my notifications and pluck a few from there when I get some opportunity to read 😊

  • Grz Colm9 days ago

    You know I rarely use that feature Judey and I should. I more so read a few from notifications and then via Facebook and repeat, but I’m often missing things from people who may only have written one piece in a few weeks which I’ve forgotten about. Anyhow great points. Thanks! ☺️👍

  • Anna 9 days ago

    Congrats on your Top Story!

  • BrettNotGreg12 days ago

    Excellent! I had no clue!

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Dr. Randy Kaplan13 days ago

    Thanks for posting this. It's new to me because I'm new. I write for Medium too. But to tell you the truth I grew sour on the whole Medium thing. So your article about personal web pages was the kind of thing I wanted toninow about. I subscribed to you (you might be the first on Vocal).

  • Interesting Top Story! I did not know about Subscriptions Your Feed! Very helpful & time saving. Also, I agree with you that: 'Latest Stories will be good for you, including but not limited to: find new creators stay on top of trends find unofficial challenges look for your own work being plagiarized (too soon?).' The last one is very disappointing... especially for more prolific, proficient writers like you!

  • Carol Townend14 days ago

    I knew this too, but I'm a friend of Medium, and I easily find stories I love on Medium, and my writing pays more there.

  • Belle14 days ago

    I didn't actually know this! Thanks for the info and congrats on top story!

  • Andrea Corwin 14 days ago

    Thanks for sharing this. I poke around in sites, so had found the feed. Using a mobile device or a laptop can make a difference on the reader’s experience; the same as the APP vs. the website. Congrats on TS!! 😍

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Brin J.14 days ago

    You don’t need to convince me to subscribe. I love following writers and learning from them. This was very informative! On my way to check out my own Feed!

  • JBaz14 days ago

    Once I read this I knew I was in for a great read: ' I think I know, even if I know that I don't know what I don't know, I still think I know more that I do know.' Then I kept reading and saw my name, gave myself a little chuckle and continued to read. I thought I knew a few tricks but you always find more. Judey I love how you share some ( not all) your knowledge with us. Congratulations

  • D.K. Shepard14 days ago

    Honestly I’m so impressed by anyone and everyone who’s tried navigating the seas without the subscription feed! It’s is definitely my go to place when I have reading time!!

  • Mariann Carroll14 days ago

    Thank you, Judey !!! You always have some goodies to share. Now I am going to click on feeds and check it out ♥️

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    No I did NOT know about this!

  • Marie Wilson14 days ago

    A fun read! Especially enjoyed the paragraph that contained: "AI generated 'spooky' stories of Midnight Manor or villages nestled between two valleys." Congrats on TS - well deserved!

  • Jay Kantor14 days ago

    Hi- 'j' ~ We all have different 'agendas' for appearing on this marvelous vm platform. As a simple StoryTeller my only purpose is to archive 'For my kids Someday'/comments from the VocalVillage is such a grateful bonus. Thank you, as always, for your kind words. I'm hoping your 'Kenny' is kicking it up soon! j-bud in.l.a.

  • Kendall Defoe 14 days ago

    Actually, I knew about some of this, but not with the same level of excitement as you! Thanks!

  • I think my brain is still broken from "But, I'm also perhaps too comfortable. I think I know, even if I know that I don't know what I don't know, I still think I know more that I do know." Thankfully I already knew about the feed, lmao

  • Gabriel Huizenga14 days ago

    I had no idea- this is brilliant!! Thanks for the tip my friend, I shall be surfing my feed quite frequently now! :)

  • Katarzyna Popiel15 days ago

    Well, I knew it but notifications seem easier to follow to me. The feed feels overwhelming at times.

  • Hehehehe I knew that earlier. But I thumbnails overwhelm me. I like things to be compact and that's why I prefer using the notifications

  • Cathy holmes15 days ago

    Yes, I knew that was there. You know what would make it even better? If the story disappeared from the feed after you read it, so that it is all unread stuff that shows up.

  • When I said that your subscription feed meant that you didn't need publications in notifications just after it started I got pilloried by many creators. I noted it as a con in my Observations on Notifications piece, and I think that the subscription feed is brilliant. Excellent article and a Top STory no doubt

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.