Writers logo

100 stories on Vocal

What I have learned through writing on Vocal.

By Jeremy WhitePublished 2 months ago 3 min read
Like
100 stories on Vocal
Photo by lilartsy on Unsplash

I have a little over 100 stories now because I couldn't find this story after I wrote it. How did I lose it? I write at work and put the stories in the book I am reading at the time. I go through a lot of books.

I have finally hit that magical mark of 100 stories on Vocal. It has been a journey. I am proud that I have hit 100 stories. I know almost half are poems. That is where I started writing. It is the other half I am most proud of.

Before Vocal I had never written a story or an article. I have learned I can write a story with the prompts Vocal provides. In fact, the first story I ever wrote for Vocal is still my most read story. I can’t explain that. I think I just joined Vocal at the right time. It was the summer when they were doing a lot of writing challenges. Maybe it was the subject matter. If you can tell me why I am putting the story here. The cursed gift | Fiction (vocal.media)

I mentioned the prompts. I have only written two stories without prompts. It took me a long time to be able to do that. One came out of a tragedy and the other was me trying to tell a friend a secret through a fiction story. They are below. Feel free to comment. Secrets | Fiction (vocal.media) Big Secrets | Fiction (vocal.media) She still hasn’t read it. It is the Secrets story. I have written two other things to try and tell them. Both are poems. One of these days they will read them.

The one thing that happened that I thought would never happen is me actually publishing writings about what I have been through. I was verbally abused and there is still a question mark on whether I was physically abused. Here is one story to help explain the maybe physical abuse. My coming out Journey | Pride (vocal.media) I have gotten to a point where I don’t care if they find out what they did to me, and I am not afraid to write and publish about it.

The very first thing I published on Vocal was for a Pride poem challenge. It was what do the colors of the pride flag mean to you. Looking back, I think it is funny that I didn’t know there was a button to get pictures. I didn’t know so I just copied the poem as my picture.

I mentioned articles at the beginning. I think out of everything I have written the music articles are my favorite. I love music and to combine my two loves is amazing. One of them is in my top 3 reads. That one will be below Female cover singers | Beat (vocal.media) It is about female cover singers and just how amazing they are.

I have done everything from album reviews to comparing Eminem, Queen, and My Chemical Romance to each other. That is an interesting one. I have done Pride songs you wouldn’t necessarily think were pride songs. I am proud of that one. It was fun researching. I was surprised how many Paramore songs there were. Including one whole album. There was a recent challenge where you could go back in time. I chose which musical acts I would go back and see. Some were older like Live Aid and some where more were more modern like seeing Foo Fighters and Linkin Park with all the members.

Then there is Eminem. Would love to see a full concert of him live. There is a recurring theme with my music articles, and it is Eminem. I can’t help it. In my opinion and a lot of other people's opinion he is not only the greatest rapper but the greatest musician of all time. That is a bold statement when you have people like Freddy Mercury, Prince, Micheal Jackson. If you go by numbers and impact of the culture he is above the rest. Love feast over.

There are still things I want to accomplish with Vocal. One would be getting a top story. The other would be placing in a challenge. I did win the free year of Vocal. That was cool. I want to get a 1000 overall reads.

Some of it is my fault because I am not good at promoting myself. Here is to the next 100. May it be fun and eye opening.

Update. I did finally get a top story and it was for a music article.

Sorry if the links don't work, I put them in google docs then pasted it too Vocal.

VocalCONTENT WARNINGCommunity
Like

About the Creator

Jeremy White

I am from a small town. I have grown up surrounded by woods. I love to Write. I started out with poems. I did not start writing stories until I joined vocal. Writing stories is really fun. I have a Bachelors in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.