Write Here, Write Now: Waiting Room by Erin Shea

In Season 2 of Write Here, Write Now: A Vocal Podcast, host Erica Wagner interviews winners of the Vocal+ Fiction Awards

By Write Here, Write Now: A Vocal PodcastPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
11

The non-descript anonymity of a waiting room can be a melancholy experience, even more so if you find yourself there frequently. Erin Shea’s “Waiting Room” faces the stale gray of these liminal spaces head on, following the protagonist’s internal journey during the course of one doctor’s appointment. Along the way? The Price is Right, Selena Gomez, and the psychological struggles of chronic illness.

What was the impetus for your winning story?

Walk us through your initial act of creation. Inspiration struck for this story (surprise, surprise) in a waiting room! I was indeed sullenly watching The Price is Right in real life and caught the credited producer named Adam Sandler, which sent me on a hasty Google search. That evening, I did a little free-write in my Moleskine journal. The contents of which I adapted into this story a couple of months later. I was initially very hesitant about my submission. I didn’t think that my chronic illness was a good story topic to draw upon. I thought it would be wholly uninteresting and even deterring to readers. However, when I revisited it, I realized that my piece was not just about chronic illness; it was about trying to find levity and, dare I say, a little bit of hope in a taxing or difficult situation. That, I believe, is something that people can connect to.

What does it take for a story to grab you? How do you grab your audience?

I love authors who are not afraid to get unconventional, uncomfortable, and gritty in their storytelling. I like a little bit of chaos in people’s writing. It feels human to me. Candid. Personal. I also appreciate a more sardonic tone of narration (which I often unwittingly slip into while writing). I’ve always been drawn to bold voices and bold stories, which there is no shortage of on Vocal! I personally look to grab my audience through a strange or unanswered statement as a story hook - a line that necessitates some clarification, some backstory. In “Waiting Room,” my initial hook about the other Adam Sandler shifts into a lighthearted ramble. I wanted it to create a sort of banter that engages the reader – something organic, conversational. After establishing that connection, I felt I had the foundation to follow my short story through and bring the reader along with me.

Who are your favorite writers and why? Do you have any favorite Vocal Creators?

If I had to narrow it down, I’d say my current favorite writers would be Haruki Murakami and James Baldwin. The latter is because of the way he writes about the core of the human experience – from joy to suffering, fear to malice. Baldwin’s heart and soul never cease to jump right off the page. As for Murakami, I owe my ongoing obsession with him to my lovely grandmother, who introduced me to his work in the first place. His novels are absolutely hypnotizing to me. They are dreamlike, surreal, and overwhelmingly strange. He never ceases to drag me into his world, dancing between reality and fantasy. I love it! I also must throw Gillian Flynn into the mix of all-time favorites. She is unmatched for me when it comes to a seamless and satisfying thriller. Here on Vocal, one of my favorite Creators is Kevin Rolly. Not only is his writing fantastic, but he includes his artwork on his page which blows my mind. I’m also a frequent visitor on Sean Patrick’s page for everything movie and pop-culture oriented. I trust his movie reviews above anyone else's!

How has sharing your writing in life and on Vocal affected you as a Creator?

Sharing my writing has allotted me much more bravery in exploring topics that are incredibly personal, often semi-autobiographical. This bravery went hand in hand with a boldness of narration and subject matter that I long shied away from. I now realize that I had to step out of my comfort zone to really be able to come into my own voice, rather than perpetually masking myself with a more detached or indifferent narration. Such has affected me immensely as a Creator. I now seek to write pieces that are incredibly vulnerable and honest - sharing what I would never have considered sharing just a few years ago. My aim is for my writing to feel raw and genuine - to treat every prospective reader like an old friend. All of which reminds me of an F. Scott Fitzgerald quote I’ve tried to internalize into my writing process: “what people are ashamed of usually makes a good story.”

What advice do you have for other Creators?

My advice for other Creators is to have faith in your work!! I still struggle with this, so this is advice I’m still trying to consistently implement in my own endeavors. As writers, it is unavoidable for us to feel critical, questioning, or generally insecure about our work. It is part of the process to write through the self-doubt and all the second-guessing. Therefore, above all else, I would encourage other Creators not only to follow but to trust their bursts of inspiration, that creative passion, wherever it takes them.

Stay tuned for new episodes of Write Here, Write Now Season 2 launching weekly.

11

About the Creator

Write Here, Write Now: A Vocal Podcast

Sex, death, relationships, nature, families... If you like to stop, think and consider things a little differently, join host Erica Wagner as she introduces a new Vocal creator’s story each week.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Bob West10 months ago

    I found some interesting tips...Thanks

  • dikef9525210 months ago

    Hi, very interesting and informative blog. thanks for sharing https://www.tumblr.com/caremountpatientportal/721254274277015552/caremount-medical-mount-kisco-campus

  • Chloe Gilholy10 months ago

    Keeping the faith, thanks for this.

  • SHK Designs10 months ago

    Beneath the open sky, I wander free, An explorer of moments, for all to see. With every step, I feel the earth's embrace, A grounding force, a gentle, nurturing space.🍃 @NicksKhan2 By DeXignSHK #SHK_Writes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.