Vocal Creator Chat: 6/13/23

A place to connect and discuss all things Vocal.

By Vocal Creator ChatPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
38

Have questions about creating stories, growing your audience, and getting rewarded on Vocal? The Vocal community and team are here to help answer your questions and feedback together.

Every Tuesday at 12 PM ET, we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour.

Please follow Vocal’s Community Guidelines and don’t spam your own profile or stories in the thread. We encourage the community to report users or comments that break these guidelines.

Some updates and reminders from the Vocal team:

  • We launched a Latest Stories section, as requested by our Creators.

Got questions about Vocal or feedback about what’s new? Leave a comment in this thread to join the Vocal Creator Chat.

Also, be sure to join our Raise Your Voice Threads every Thursday at 12PM ET to champion inspiring stories and outstanding creators on Vocal. Save it to your calendar so you don’t miss it.

creator chat
38

About the Creator

Vocal Creator Chat

Monthly on Tuesday @ 12PM ET, we we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour on Vocal. Subscribe now

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (37)

Sign in to comment
  • Adil Seemab11 months ago

    Does Vocal Media pay bonus on completing first ten or first fifty stories threshold. I have reached to posting 40+ articles in motivation and have not received any bonus yet.

  • I have suggestion. As I’m from India and having payment issue. My suggestion is to add easy payment/withdrawal method for Indian creators. I know lots of Indian joining Vocal Media and it will be easy for them to withdraw money if you add some easy payment methods.

  • Angel Bates12 months ago

    VERY FRUSTRATED!! I've titled, pated my story and added an image. It will still not save changes and submit it. It submits but deletes the content. My husband is a software developers and does not understand it either.

  • Suze Kay12 months ago

    Hello! Happy writer here. I was just wondering if you could clarify the submission process for me - sometimes my pieces are instantaneously approved and posted, and sometimes it's an overnight wait. I'm not complaining, as I'm sure it's a lot of work to do, but I was wondering what factors into the varied wait times? Thanks!

  • Something that arose from my latest post. Vocal Communities provide a focus for the subject but are not exclusive to contributions based on anything apart from the fact that they are vocal members. Simplest examples , women can write in Men , and Men can write in Viva

  • I would like to see a few more categories in the Beat community. Maybe Jazz, Funk/R&B, Gospel, New Wave, Alt Rock, Classic Rock. Thank you!!! 😎

  • Lana V Lynx12 months ago

    I love Vocal as an outlet for my writing. I don't expect to have large audiences or make a lot of money (one day, maybe, after I retire from my day job as a college professor). However, I do have friends who are interested in reading my stuff but are frustrated that they cannot "heart" it or leave a comment without creating an account on Vocal. They are not creators, just regular readers who would like to support me (and hopefully other writers). Would it be possible to give the regular readers this ability to leave feedback on Vocal without signing in?

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    Hi there! Is it possible to get a resubmit button so that we can resubmit older pieces to the new communities. Also, will poetry eventually be allowed to be submitted to the new Humor Community? I have a humorous poem that I'd like to submit but it's not 600 words. Thx!

  • Thavien Yliaster12 months ago

    I had a content warning added to one of my recently published poems. I checked back recently and the warning label is no longer there. Does this happen to all stories after a period of time or just stories that the moderator's think don't need the content warning?

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Hi again, my only issue this week is that I am waiting to hear about editing the subtitle on one of my poems (Fibonacci Drift). I've sent an email and raised a ticket and not even received confirmation that it has been received!

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Hi again Vocal! It's me again 😅 As stated below, I have multiple questions and here is the next one (by the way, I remain a very happy Vocal member!)❤️ I admit I am a bit nervous and ashamed to ask this, but I wanted to verify whether having a story receive either Top Story or being listed on the new Leadership Board automatically disqualifies it from placing in a challenge. As someone who (is very grateful to!) receive Top Stories here and there, I would also like to rest assured that being featured on the front page is not hurting my chances of being considered for challenges 🥲 I would like to stop here and make it clear that I am a HUGE fan of the fact that Vocal is making a conscious attempt to exhibit fairness by not having the same person win multiple categories. However, I would also like to know that being lucky enough to get Top Story and/or place in wonderful new things like the Leadership Board does not hurt our chance of placing in challenges. (Not that I expect to ever win a challenge anyway 😅) but I hope my question makes sense....I'm hoping to alleviate that little part of me that feels like there is no way that a story that gets Top Story could ever win a challenge🥹❤️

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Hello, Vocal and Vocal community. I have a suggestion about adding another option for uploading video content. It would be nice to have an option where you can upload a video you created with your phone or computer. Right now, there is the option uploading it to u tube then to vocal, but what if you only want to share it on vocal, there is no option for that. Thank you for considering.

  • KJ Aartila12 months ago

    How about a community for people who are beyond the age of Gen Y or millennial ...

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Hi Vocal, Thank you so much for all the recent improvements to the site! I remain a happy Vocal member :) I do have some questions about things of different topics, and I'll be posting them separately here. The first one is this: I am so in love with the new Art Community -- with that said -- has Vocal given any thought to what the guidelines will be when it comes to nudity in art? As we all know, nudity is a big part of art. Specifically, I found a painting that I love and want to use for the Painted Prose Challenge. However, it does contain (very tasteful) nudity. Am I able to use this painting, and if so, do I need to cover the parts in question up? I will do so - if necessary - but at the same time, part of me feels it would be a shame to cover artwork up like this. What are Vocal's thoughts? I would like to be able to submit my story without it getting flagged, so please let me (us) know how to proceed. ❤️ Thank you!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Good morning / afternoon / evening, It would be nice if creators could arrange our content on our page, instead of stories published in recent order. Pinning three stories is a great tool, but I’d like to be able to curate my page better. This would also be nifty when creators post a series, the stories could be arranged in chronological order, Anyway I thought I’d mention my idea. I realize this is either a super easy tweak or a head shaking impossibility.

  • Is there a closing date for the New Community Bonus for creators who post in each new community?

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    Hi I was wondering if a tag for fiction could be added to the new community for Art. I recently tried to republish an older story that centered on a statue/roman sculpture into the art community so I could also enter it into the challenge. It is based on an actual work of art and was originally published in horror. Vocal bounced it back to fiction. I do see some other submissions that are published in art community which are fiction but also based on actual works of art. I think who ever reviewed my request did not have a tag so it was put back in fiction. Thanks for any help.

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    Hellooooo... MADE IT! 🤣 Kudos to everyone who gets here every week... you guys are diamonds! As i am here I thought i would contribute some space cadet vibes for consideration... I won't go completely loop-the-loop but I thought I would scatter the following 5 and see how they land... 😁 - Any chance of another Vocal award that includes being included in a book like the Vocal + comp last year? - what about awards that include professional feedback on your stories to date to help improvement? - also wondering if there could be some fun with the leader boards like "the best comment" award. I have read some amazing comments by some truly wonderful and encouraging creators. I would love them to be celebrated for the difference they make to the confidence of other. - perhaps a competition for artwork and book covers. Some creators (not me ha!) are fantastic at cover art... what a beautiful competition that would make! - how about a competition on the best advice to pass onto other writers. This could populate a whole resource section on its own. Any thoughts? ✌️❤

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    I'd like to pose a question that I've asked the Vocal Support Team without receiving a clear response: After winning my first Vocal Challenge, I discovered and acknowledged that it typically takes approximately 45 days to receive winnings. Also, this article :https://help.vocal.media/hc/en-us/articles/360049213254-Are-Challenge-winners-responsible-for-taxes- states that because of the amount of the prize, I would be receiving forms to fill out and return. I've asked when and how I should expect to receive said forms, and was told by support that no forms would be required, and directed to consult the very article that states it, which I've linked to above. I would appreciate some clarification.

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    A.I. isn't going anywhere as we all are touched by it every day or use some form of A.I. tool like Grammarly, Dall*E, Nightcafe, etc. I really like the OC stories. Is there any plan for creators to be held accountable to disclose their publication as A.I. Once upon a time, (A.I. joke) I recall reading a Vocal resource that required such a disclosure.

  • Shauna Mullen12 months ago

    There has been talks on some groups on Facebook spreading that vocal is scam, I personally know this to not be true but the experiences some people have relayed are concerning, is there anything being done to resolve this?

  • Judey Kalchik 12 months ago

    I admit this may have come up before, and if so apologies. But is it on the radar to give creators the ability to block another creator? By this I mean- make it so that 'blocked' person can't see or comment on out stories, and we can't see or comment on theirs. It would be useful to block the 'creators' that fire (I'm going to say it) spammish content every few minutes. That behavior is now more evident than ever thanks to the 'Latest Stories' tab- which is a truly awesome feature.

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Have send support emails. I know to wait 24 to 48 hours that reads are suppose to even out. This reverse of more hearts than reads is troubling and problematic. " understand proprietary security in read count methodology, but how does Vocal reconcile with the creator when there is an obvious disparity?" Scott said.

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Good morning, good afternoon, and evening everyone!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.