Vocal Creator Chat: 10/17/2023

A place to connect and discuss all things Vocal.

By Vocal Creator ChatPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
20

Have questions about creating stories, growing your audience, and getting rewarded on Vocal? The Vocal community and team are here to help answer your questions and feedback together.

Every other Tuesday at 12 PM ET, we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour.

Please follow Vocal’s Community Guidelines and don’t spam your own profile or stories in the thread. We encourage the community to report users or comments that break these guidelines.

Some updates and reminders from the Vocal team:

  • Community judging for the 2023 Vocal Writing Awards is now open. Start judging here.

Got questions about Vocal or feedback about what’s new? Leave a comment in this thread to join the Vocal Creator Chat.

Also, be sure to join our Raise Your Voice Threads every other Thursday at 12PM ET to champion inspiring stories and outstanding creators on Vocal. Save it to your calendar so you don’t miss it.

creator chat
20

About the Creator

Vocal Creator Chat

Monthly on Tuesday @ 12PM ET, we we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour on Vocal. Subscribe now

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • simran sadangi6 months ago

    hello! i have recently posted a new poetry , a few of my friends read it but the stats show 5 likes and 0 reads, even though they read through the whole page. why is this happening?

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    My question: when subscribing to vocal creators, the subscription don’t last long. Why do I have to keep subscribing? Is there a limited time to subscribing to a vocal creator?

  • Emily Mila7 months ago

    hello good https://www.prothomalo.com/

  • Aleena Huda7 months ago

    I face technical glitches at times.

  • And one more thing, will we ever hear about resource submissions. I have 12 sitting in drafts and they have been there for two weeks with no response

  • Also are their any plans to fix the faults in Statistics of Notifications being flooded with publications?

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    Why can't we edit titles or subtitles?

  • The Elephant in the room is when are payments going to stop needing tickets or mail requests after a withdrawal has been requested. The latest was two after an email was sent out and a due ambassador's payment has been sitting there since the 13th of October. This does not give a professional impression.

  • Oneg In The Arctic7 months ago

    When will we be able to delete our own published stories instead of emailing about redrafting them?

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    I've been enjoying the community judging in the Vocal Awards so far. One issue I have though is the removal of all the cover pics and links. I read a couple yesterday where the captions remained, but no links. It's distracting, and makes the story kind of disjointed. Also, in poetry the pic is often directly related, even necessary.

  • Deasun T. Smyth7 months ago

    Hi Vocal, I'm still having trouble accessing my favourite stories.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji7 months ago

    What does it mean-nested errors occurred? Won't let me save/submit story

  • Lena Folkert7 months ago

    Last one I swear. It seems with the new top story nominations on discord, this is where many of them come from (which can lead to a lot of repeat names from a limited group but that’s another story), is there any future of the creator nominated top stories being separate from the vocal official selections? Like “Top Stories” and “Creators’ Choice”? This may even encourage more interaction and traffic on the discord…

  • Lena Folkert7 months ago

    Also another one you’ve probably fielded too many times: filters on notifications. I would REALLY (really, really, really) be so grateful to have the notifications about my own stories separate from the notifications of what my subscribed to creators are publishing. Honestly I’ve been tempted to unsubscribe just to be able to better keep my finger on the pulse of my own work. But I would hate to do that. I think being notified of their work is very helpful but it also seems totally random what gets notified to me anyway. Any further improvements in this area imminent?

  • Lena Folkert7 months ago

    I’m sure this has been addressed many times. But one thing I would REALLY love is the ability to have single spacing on my stories. For poetry especially, the double spacing really messes with the flow and meaning sometimes.

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    The judging has been exciting so far. One thing I noticed with the Haiku is that one of the point categories is for the 5-7-5 structure. I don’t think the chosen selection would have qualified for the short list if the syllable count was off. Which gives community judges the opportunity to give them a lower score when it should automatically be 20 pts. Who knows, I may be missing something here, if so please disregard. Just thought I would mention that someone can give them a 5 pt score when it should be an automatic 20. 🤷🏽‍♀️

  • Heather Hubler7 months ago

    Hi :) Just wondering if there's been any further consideration or concrete plans to roll out a Block feature. I know many have asked for this ability. I appreciate your time, thanks. ~H

  • J. S. Wade7 months ago

    Good afternoon. Is it possible to add a filter in stats to sort Read counts? (Example: Newest, oldest, genre, community). Fishing through the stats for a particular story is a bit of a pain in the arse. 😎 Thank you.

  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    Could Vocal start giving a couple of sentences on why something makes a top story? I'd love to know why some make and some don't. I know you wrote that resource, but it's a bit generic.

  • Thavien Yliaster7 months ago

    The Vocal Judging Awards are fine, but the ability to judge the works in comparison to one another are rather limited. In a sense, it's too easy for every chosen piece to earn the same score for its specific genre. If one wants to have the works score on placement such as a 1st place - 6th place, then one must choose where to deduct points from certain scores, even if the works deserved those points. In a sense, the ranking system is skewed removing a lot of autonomy from the community judging forcing us to select points based options that go against the objective and subjective standards that have been provided. When done with good intentions, it appears that commenting for feedback seems to be the best option.

  • Judey Kalchik 7 months ago

    I recently got an email using my work email address, and it was from someone that said I'd left them an encouraging comment on a Vocal story and they were requesting I help support them financially. I have a fairly unique name and suppose that they found mu info on LinkedIn- still I think it was odd/creepy. Has anyone else had that happen?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.