Proof logo

Hot Buttered Rum

Let's have some hot buttered fun this Season!

By Leslie WritesPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
13

Trying to write a Whodunit for the next Vocal challenge is making me thirsty. So while I struggle to channel my inner Agatha Christie, I wanted to take a minute to introduce you to my new favorite adult beverage for the holidays. Move over eggnog! It’s time to sing the praises of hot buttered rum! It sounds like a granny drink because it is. It's a classic, dating back to the Colonial period. The drink was also very popular in the 1940's.

The first time I tasted a hot buttered rum was at Christina Campbell’s Tavern in Williamsburg Virginia. I usually shy away from mixed drinks and the hard stuff. I normally stick to cider or beer, but I was so curious, I had to try it. It’s butter you can drink! Those of you who have read my poetry know how I feel about butter.

This drink is very customizable, but by definition it must contain these five basic elements.

1. The butter: Most recipes call for unsalted butter, and then have you add salt to the mixture. I say just use salted. If you can afford a splurge, Kerry Gold Irish butter will bump it up a notch. Just don't use too much. I'd use an amount equal to a pat of butter for each mug you plan to serve.

2. The spices: Cloves, Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Allspice, pinch of salt, or whatever combination of these you like.

3. The sweetener: Brown sugar or honey. You may want to adjust the amount depending on if you are using water or cider as the base.

4. The base: As mentioned above, you can use water or cider. I prefer cider.

5. The rum: I used Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum, but dark or spiced rum is the standard for this drink.

Mix the butter, sweetener, and spices to create a 'batter.' Eww, please don't call it that. Heat the water or cider in a saucepan. Divide the butter mixture (which you can portion and freeze in advance) into serving mugs. Then stir in the rum and hot water or cider until the sugar is dissolved. You can use a frother for that if you're fancy.

Decorate your mug with whipped cream, cinnamon sticks, cherries, olives, glitter, hot chip, crispy chicken wing, whatever you want. Go wild!

If you are the kind of person that likes using a recipe, here are some decent ones from The Spruce Eats and this one from Delish that uses ice cream as well as butter for extra creaminess.

Yes it is very decadent. That is why it it's reserved for the holidays and the cold winter months. One of these is not going to get you hammered. And with all that butter and sugar, one is probably enough. It's just meant to be a cozy little treat. So snuggle up by the fire or a Christmas flick with your loved one(s). You can make mocktails for the kids by omitting the rum, but I think it’s best to enjoy hot buttered rum while watching Die Hard after the kids are in bed.

Hot Buttered Facts:

  • According to the National Day Calendar website, January 17th is National Hot Buttered Rum Day in the United States.
  • Rum was invented by enslaved people on sugar plantations in the 17th century. They discovered how to distill the spirit from molasses.
  • Historians believe that butter was first added to hot drinks during the reign of King Henry VIII of England.
  • The alcohol in a dish (or in this case, a beverage) does not just "burn off" immediately when heated. That kind of thing takes time. Three hours, in fact. If you are concerned about losing any of the buzz in your hot buttered rum, be sure to add your rum at the last second and consume immediately to retain maximum rumminess.

Cheers!

Sources:

https://blog.thenibble.com/2022/01/17/hot-buttered-rum-recipe-the-history-of-the-drink/

https://www.foodnetwork.com/how-to/packages/food-network-essentials/cooking-wine-does-alcohol-burn-off

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hot_buttered_rum

vintagerumHolidaydiycocktailsalcohol
13

About the Creator

Leslie Writes

Another struggling millennial. Writing is my creative outlet and stress reliever.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Die hard. Haha I love captain Morgan so this really piqued my interest Leslie. 😁 Plus spices and I’m there. Is the cider a normal apple cider or like an alcoholic cider? I don’t usually drink cider. Excellent stuff!! 😊👍

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I feel like one shot glass of this would be ample and delicious!

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    This sounds sooooo good. I do prefer dark rum to captain, but me and the Cap have had many a day to tie one on. I miss him, lol. Thanks for the recipe.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I love that gif with Kevin, thank you for including it and making my day 😁

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    I am West Indian, with a family devoted to rum, and I have never tried this one... Very interesting work...

  • You had me at butter, and you stole my heart when I realized there was rum. I will have to try this, maybe this weekend as we are having a nor'easter coming to visit Saturday and Sunday.

  • Kageno Hoshino5 months ago

    This made my mouth water

  • This sounds excellent and yummy. Happy to subscribe to your work.

  • Oooo, you have no idea how much reading this made my mouth water! Lol. It reminded me of the Butterbeer from Harry Potter. Sounds sooooo delicious!

  • Brahim elbaz 5 months ago

    Hi i'm a writer too Can u support me by Reading one of my articles

  • k eleanor5 months ago

    Thanks for sharing!

  • Thanks for sharing this , sure lots will love it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.