Poets logo

You Deserved It All

Here I am

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
8
You Deserved It All
Photo by Wyron A on Unsplash

Still exhausted

What's a perfect sleep?

My eyelids sit perfectly on a bridge in my dreams

When I wake up you bolted,

and I'm forced to remember

You left me

Here I am

In a ball on the floor

If anyone asks

I can't breathe anymore

Here I am

I'm a stop gap

The one that showed you

You deserved it all

Still exhausted

Taking this week by week

All of this has effectively ended my winning streak

The lesson is duly noted,

as I'm forced to remember

You left me

Here I am

In a ball on the floor

If anyone asks

I can't breathe anymore

Here I am

I'm a stop gap

The one who showed you

You deserved it all

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
8

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Michela Panstein3 months ago

    Amazing 🤯🤯🤯

  • Oh my heart 💔 Strongly felt x

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Heartwrentching and melancholy!!! Brilliantly written!!! Live this!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Your moving expression resonates strongly with everyone who has felt comparable agony because it so authentically conveys the real misery of heartbreak.

  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    Oh my God, Frankie, this was so good. I felt this way a few days ago and you wrote it out so well. Nicely done!

  • I've been a stop gap many times too. It crushes our heart and soul. Loved your poem!

  • Your raw honesty and vulnerability in expressing the pain of heartbreak truly resonates with me, reminding us all of the depths of human emotion.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.