Poets logo

Wounded

But not Dead

By Kenny PennPublished 30 days ago 1 min read
12
Wounded
Photo by Bruno van der Kraan on Unsplash

Exhausted from running on these eggshells,

Constantly dealing with your inner demons,

Living like a prisoner in the cell you created,

I deserve better than weaponized tears,

Psychological warfare is a game I won't play,

Say goodbye, my love, this bird is breaking free,

Exit wounds hurt, but eventually they heal.

Mental Healthinspirational
12

About the Creator

Kenny Penn

Thanks for reading! I enjoy writing in various genres, my favorites being horror/thriller and dark/epic fantasies. I'll also occasionally drop a poem or two.

For a list of all my work, and to connect with me, go to www.kennypenn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer20 days ago

    Freeeeeee biiiiiiirrrrrd 🤘

  • Tressa Rose26 days ago

    Loved this acrostic, so very relatable ❤️

  • Shirley Belk28 days ago

    Very healthy response and great poem!

  • Christy Munson29 days ago

    Strong poem. Enjoyed your acrostic very much.

  • Suze Kay29 days ago

    Kenny, this poem is brutal hurt and beautiful hope. I love this little twist you've taken on the definition of 'eclipse' - like the darkening has already happened, that's where we start, and then we have to claw the light back. I think so many of the eclipse entries have focused on the act of occluding, but the eclipse itself also encompasses the return of the light. I'm so glad to read one that (despite showing real growth and trauma) shows the brighter half.

  • This perfectly describes my life right now. Only difference is, I'm still contemplating if I should break free. Loved your Acrostic so much!

  • Hannah Moore29 days ago

    This poem just makes me want to check you're ok.

  • Andrea Corwin 30 days ago

    Nice acrostic -exit wounds is a new description for leaving

  • Heather Hubler30 days ago

    The whole thing was visceral but those last two lines...exit wounds hurt...brilliant, Kenny.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.