Poets logo

An Ode to the PB&J

The best snack in the Universe

By Kenny PennPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
12
An Ode to the PB&J
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

When I felt dismayed because the day had been grey,

Or if smoking weed left me with a desperate need to feed,

I’d crack open the pantry and make a delicious snack.

First the white bread, pillowy soft, never lite, just right,

At least 2 slices or 4, whatever I’m due, thank you,

Laid on a dinner plate either crooked or straight.

Then I’d break out the Jiff, pop the cap, take a sniff,

The nutty scent of smooth Jiff is a gift to the senses,

Spread it on thick, take a lick and make it quick.

Last comes grape jam, not jelly, that’s on the exam,

This I’d spread fairly thin while beginning to grin,

For just a hint of sticky sweet that can’t be beat.

Can’t eat yet, full stop. Can’t forget the cherry on top,

Pour myself a tall glass of that delicious silk we call milk,

Each bite I take makes me reminisce, the taste is pure bliss.

Reminds me of times spent at play on hot summer days,

Chasing friends, tossing balls, riding bikes to the mall,

Telling jokes with my folks and stories to ease our worries.

Even now, if life gets crappy, a PB&J can still make me happy.

performance poetryOde
12

About the Creator

Kenny Penn

Thanks for reading! I enjoy writing in various genres, my favorites being horror/thriller and dark/epic fantasies. I'll also occasionally drop a poem or two.

For a list of all my work, and to connect with me, go to www.kennypenn.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantorabout a month ago

    Hi Kp ~ As I munch on my daily requirement of PB&J - I wonder where you've been. When you have a moment you and your Bro may relate to 'Hit me Again'...I know mine did. Jk.in.l.a.

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    I love the way you wait to really savour the full experience.

  • PK Colleran2 months ago

    A great go-to treat: peanut butter and jelly sandwich. I like yours best, jam not jelly!! Fun poem. 💙

  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    So Kp ~ CrunchyPeauntButta' Munchies, or what ~ * Very proud to see us SarcasticBunkMates once in again within our Celia's Schpiels. She has so much 'Grace' SmokeLess.in.L.A.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Wonderful ode to this morning's breakfast, except mine was toasted. Well done.

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    Well, now I know what I am having for supper!

  • Hayley Matto2 months ago

    And suddenly I'm craving a PB&J... May need to escape the house and go make one. (My little brother is allergic to peanuts so I don't eat this treat as often as I wis I could!!) I loved your rhyme scheme!! This was so fun, and really brought the nostalgia of this meal to life. Loved it!!

  • Test2 months ago

    Aw Kenny love the humour and joy in this! Being on the wrong side of the ocean I've never had it but may have to gve ir a go but the nostagia element is going to be missing. Super cool flow and the internal rhymes are great!

  • I loveeeeeeeeee PB&J! I have it for my breakfast every day. I use blackcurrant jam instead. Also, delicious silk called milk, that was brilliant! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.