Poets logo

Waiata Ruahine - The Old Crone's Ballad

A real folksy landscape piece.

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
The actual view out of my bedroom window.

Perhaps I'll write some sad songs in major keys

Or dabble in functional tonalities

Got plenty of time, and the inspiration's free

Just look out my window, and what do I see

(

The moon waxes new all alone in the sky

As the sun sets over the Ruahine ranges

How can I live in such a beautiful place

And still feel in my heart that I'm empty

)

At two in the morning my window's limned bright

Night's mimicking day, keeping me up all night

With sleep there comes peace, with wakefulness, naught

But creative insight; hear what I've been taught:

0

The galaxies brightly bewilder the sky

While a full moon glows o'er the Ruahine ranges

How can I live so immersed in sublime

And still feel in my heart that I'm empty

0

Old man in the moon, can't you see, can't you see

Your knowledge is great, but what I really need

Is peace and enlightenment, and a little sleep

So please won't you sprinkle some wisdom on me

(

While you're waxing new, a hermit in the sky

Sucking sunlight out of the Ruahine ranges

Tell me, how can I live in such a beautiful place

And still feel in my heart that I'm empty

Still feel in my heart that I'm empty

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.