Poets logo

Violence on roses

Letters burnt into my skin

By Christiane WinterPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
3
Violence on roses
Photo by Maxim Hopman on Unsplash

There's a light in my soul that won't go out

And it burns, and it bleeds, as I try to snuff it out

Frosty hair on sheets crusted over with desire

My mind, and my soul, and my heart are on fire

It's not a flame of happiness and not a flame of joy

It's a hell hot pit that I wish I could destroy

I fight, and I scrape, and I try to get away

Silver tongue telling me "No bitch, not today"

You were supposed to be my savior, this was supposed to be the end

But you thrive in my pain and you take away my friends

Feed me drugs and tell me it's okay;

"No one else will love you anyway"

performance poetrysocial commentarysad poetryheartbreakFilthy
3

About the Creator

Christiane Winter

Science fiction, horror, and dark comedy enthusiast. I have been a GM for D&D for 10 years, playing for nearly 20. Like all aspiring authors, I have hundreds of stories, and almost none have been finished.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Perry Minkoff8 months ago

    The emotions are so raw. So well written!

  • Tommy Ballard8 months ago

    I can feel the pain coming through on this one, haunting and excellent work as usual.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.