Poets logo

A beautiful anomaly

The strange inspiration of being in love

By Christiane WinterPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
23
A beautiful anomaly
Photo by Giulia Bertelli on Unsplash

You are my muse.

Because of you, light is born from my chest-

rising, seeking out the highest peaks,

sinking, spilling,

a magma of passion enveloping the deepest crevices of my mind.

For the first time, I feel that I am soaring.

Inspiration has always fallen through my fingers-

like sand, gripped too tightly, pouring from my grasp;

The ghost of what could have been lingering on the tails of my breath.

What a precious anomaly you have been,

teaching me to pluck beauty from each staggeringly plain moment,

showing me the simple pleasure of being alive.

/ / /

love poems
23

About the Creator

Christiane Winter

Science fiction, horror, and dark comedy enthusiast. I have been a GM for D&D for 10 years, playing for nearly 20. Like all aspiring authors, I have hundreds of stories, and almost none have been finished.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F8 months ago

    Vivid and beautiful - well done and congrats!

  • E.K. Daniels8 months ago

    Beautiful! Congrats on TS!

  • Naveedkk 8 months ago

    Very well written, congratulations on top story.💗

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Really beautiful love poem, universalized, feeling like the first time. I especially like what you said in this line: "The ghost of what could have been lingering on the tails of my breath." Great work and congratulation on Top Story!

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    That "precious anomaly "... Thanks for the reminder... Great TS!

  • Talonted8 months ago

    I have to second JBaz's comment, a wonderful line!

  • JBaz8 months ago

    The ghost of what could have been lingering on the tails of my breath. What a beautiful line Congratulations

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Terrific! Bountiful and beautiful work! Wonderful!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Gorgeous.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Beautifully written!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Great piece 💖📝👌🎉😉✌️Congratulations on Your Top Story🎉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.